Italian Chicken and Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My husband and I loved it! I had 20 mins to prepare the meal and plate it before he got home from work. I had zero time to defrost chicken, NO tomato sauce, No Italian seasoning--So I CHEATED and used the canned Chicken breast from Costco and about 5 fresh diced tomatoes. Sautéed smashed garlic and drained chicken in the olive oil w/ rosemary, and about 3 pinches of dry basil, to get an "Italian seasoning" taste . As the chicken browned, I diced 5 Organic Roma tomatoes, and threw them in with the cayenne, red pepper flakes, bay leaves(3) and subbed sugar with tomato bouillon because we aren't fond of sweet and lacked the saltiness of tomato sauce. Added the chick peas and stirred it all together with about 1/3 cup of water and allowed it to simmer with the cover on. Removed it from the heat and topped it all with 2 fresh chopped basil leaves, and chopped sun dried tomatoes. All the flavors infused so nicely together, I know an Italian grandmother somewhere would've slapped me for my improvisation. I used fresh tomatoes, dry and fresh basil, 2 extra Bay leaves, Sun Dried tomatoes and some tomato bouillon. But hey: Prep: 5 mins Cook: 7-10 mins Plate: 5 mins I had enough time to plate it and set the table. Served the dish with some wine and made it look like I slaved in the kitchen. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amina James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Rho
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made no changes to this recipe! I felt that if someone's grandma made it every year for a holiday, it deserved that much respect! God bless you! It was amazing! Thank you for sharing! Change up the spice content, if needed, but it was perfect for our family. It is now in my recipe box and will be used time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My husband and kids love this receipe! I did omit the red peppers and used less cayene pepper as my kids are fairly young, but other than that it was delicious and very easy to make. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Love this recipe, but it was WAAAAY to spicy for my family. I now leave out the cayenne pepper and use half the recommended amount of red pepper. When we don't have any tomato sauce I use a can of diced tomatoes. Still very good with this variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
maybe on the east coast garbanzo beans are more tender than they are here in CA.. or maybe that's why we only put them in our salads.. go fig.. i felt like they should have been cooked longer rather than just heated.. unlike most everyone i enjoyed the spiciness & the herb blend was totally on it.. i dont like my marina sauces sweet so instead i added seasoned salt.. seemed a lil on the dry side to me.. maybe i did something wrong b/c all the pics look pretty saucy to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I love this recipe and so does my hubby! I use chicken thighs instead of breasts because they turn out moister and my hubby likes them better than breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I cut down on the cayenne and red pepper flakes and it was still spicy enough (just right). I served this with a pumpkin risotto (oven baked; found recipe by searching online).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Tasty dish but if children are going to eat this dish reduce the spice by at least half. Super spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I LOVED this meal. I would rate it 5 stars BUT the amount of spice is far too high. I'm a big fan of spicy but I cut the cayenne & red pepper flakes in half and it still had quite the kick. I would definitely recommend this and will be cooking again, just with about 1/2 the spice. I served with a small side of pasta but I found it held up great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Not much flavor. I did add an extra can od diced organic tomatoes with double the seasoning but not much flavor still
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States