Italian Chicken Sausage Stuffed Portabellas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I changed recipe little bit. I use pork sausage instead but add chopped red pepper in it. Also top with real Parmesan cheese.. Its heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Oak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
OMG...I read the other reviews and bumped this up to something really quite exquisite. Way better than many reviewers reported. I read the 'mushy, runny and bland' reports, and the 'use spicier sausage,' and I went a little bit different route instead. I got a nice apple/chicken sweet sausage and IT became the star of this recipe! I browned it & carmelized it first. Then I bumped up the sauce and it was heaven on a plate. I used large portabellas and made it a main course with sauted fresh asparagus on the side. I used low-fat cream cheese with onions and chives for the base of the sauce, but I added chopped spinach, sauted onions, garlic and green pepper, and some red pepper flakes. The contrast of the tangy sauce, the mushrooms, and the sweet chicken and apple sausage was really awesome. Just as good warmed up the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very easy and tasted great! I just used jalapeno chicken sausage, diced it, mixed it with Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb cheese, and baked in the mushroom caps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this for my 50th Birthday party. It was the biggest hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Way Good!! Hubs says do it again!! Added a few red pepper flakes and used low fat cream cheese to lessen the calories. Will definitely add this to a regular meal rotation. So super easy and a light dinner for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this recipe. It was almost perfect but I changed a few things. Instead of the chicken sausage, I used marinated chicken (I marinated the chicken in Italian dressing). I also used about 4 oz. of cooking cream cheese (Italian flavored), half a large onion, a little garlic, and red pepper flakes. I cooked it for 7-8 minutes at 375. It was a great recipe. My dad and I loved it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I've made this twice now. And it's rather good. I love the cream cheese in this heated up...hmmm mmm hmm!! The recipe I have to say over all is really good. But what I find in this is....the portion size. I have tried to find the size in this recipe, and it's a no go. Either small ones about 1 1/2 to 2 inches OR 5-7 inches...I've purchased the largest and the filling doesn't match up at all. I can get 3 to 3 1/2 filled with the amount that is written for in this recipe but no where near 8. Which is fine. Other then that. The recipe was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My Hubby couldn't stop eating these during the football game. I did add a bit of red pepper flakes to the sausage when I browned it. Yum! I really liked it but thought it could use a bit of panko or bread crumbs mixed in and with the parmesan cheese on top. We like a little bit of crunch and a little touch of spice. Super easy too. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Quick dish, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States