Italian Chicken Sausage Stuffed Portabellas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
We thought these were delicious! I had smaller (stuufing size) portabella mushrooms that had stems, so I followed another reviewer and chopped them fine and added them in the pan w/ the sausage, along with some finely chopped onion. I seasoned it all w/ garlic powder, salt and pepper and allowed it to cool to room temp before mixing it w/ the cream cheese. I could not find the al-fresco Italian chicken sausage in my store, so I just used the store brand chicken sausage. Hubby said that he would request these, so that makes them a winner in my book! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made several changes - but mostly with amounts. I used the Andioulle Sausage since that is what I had on hand. I felt it would have more kick to it anyway than the regular sweet sausage. I think the buffalo sausage would be a great switch up too, with a little franks added to the cream cheese mixture. I ended up using only 1 sausage and sauteed some of the mushroom stems with the sausage. I sprinkled the tops with a little panko before baking to give it a little "crunch" They were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made this last night and thought it was awesome. The Alfresco sausage had just the right snap to it. The only thing I would be more careful next time is drying out the mushrooms more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
These were really good! And they were very simple to make. I used turkey italian sausage, because the Al Fresco brand wasn't available where I live, but they were yummy. Next time though, I will add more of the cream cheese spread with onion and chives into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
What an impressive recipe! These mushrooms taste like they took a lot more work than they really did! Super quick to make. This was my first time trying the Al Fresco italian sausage and I'll definitely be buying it again. Makes a great last minute appetizer when unexpected guests pop in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Jruiz26
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very easy & quick recipe, makes a great lunch or side dish. I added mozzarella to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this recipe with large cremini mushrooms since I felt the portabellas would be wasted. Only 1 other person in my house likes mushrooms. I think the creminis worked better anyway and they're not as expensive. I didn't have the cream cheese spread so made it myself with 1/2 of the cream cheese and added basil, oregano, and garlic. I chopped the cremini stems and sauteed them with the sausage (1/2 the ammt also) I find if u skin the sausage b4 browning, it isn't as chewy. I added green onions as I didn't have chives. The texture was too creamy for me so I added some Italian dry bread crumbs, which helped improve the texture and flavor alot. After these changes..they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by Flying Wizard
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
We really liked this! Instead of using portabellas, I decided to use the criminis I had on hand and made them as appetizers for our Sunday dinner. I added more garlic (you can never have too much garlic) and skipped the chive garnish. A flavorful, quick appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was a very good recipe, we like it a lot. The mushroom caps I got were enormous, so next time I will double the ingredients, except for the sausage, since the caps were not filled. I used this as the main dish and added a salad with walnuts and strawberries as a side dish and my husband said it was better than a cruise ship meal! So this one goes on my favs list too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Yummy! Made these for me and my son for dinner and we loved them. I added some grated mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States