Italian Chicken Sausage Stuffed Portabellas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I am a fan of stuffed mushrooms but did not care for these. I wish I had done what others did and just stuffed white button mushrooms, I think they would have turned out better. The portobellos did not stand up to the stuffing and it went all over the pan. The stuffing was not special. I added a handful of chopped fresh spinach but that did not even liven it up. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Sausage just isn't my thing and neither is cream cheese. However, when given the assignment to cook Al Fresco sponsored recipes, this one caught my eye. I used much less cream cheese (enough to keep the sausage together) and chose not to add black pepper (in the directions, yet not listed in the ingredients). I ate half of one and was OK w/it. Mr. LTH really enjoyed them. Would I make them again? Nope. Are they worth trying if you have some sausage and mushrooms to use? Absolutely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Family liked these mushrooms very much. I think I will add more seasonings next time though. I did not use the entire package of sausage and I did cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ItalianSpice
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Loved this recipe! The 5 stars are there, even though I added a couple of things, I gave it 5 stars because I think this recipe is delicious as is. I only added personal preferences: garlic, red bell pepper and scallions. My favorite of the al fresco recipes so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was fantastic! My store didn't have the Italian sausage available, so I used the Roasted Garlic flavor, which went very nicely with the flavor of the cream cheese. I'm not familiar with preparing portabello mushrooms and I wasn't sure if the "gills" should be removed, but I went ahead and did so. Like a few others, I chopped up the stems and sauteed them with a small diced onion and the sausage. My whole family really liked this, except my 16-year-old doesn't care for mushrooms, so she just ate the filling. I'd like to try this again, using baby bellas so they're appy-sized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommasangelbaby
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Delish. Made a few changes that I don't think affected the overall recipe much. Used regular mushrooms instead of portabellas, added about 1/2 cups mozzerella to stuffing mix, added panko to parmesian topping, added chopped mushroom stems to stuffing mix, used parsely for topping instead of chives (as I hate them). Browned the meat after removing from casing. This took much longer than recommended, about 10-15 minutes. Total baking time was longer as well, about 10 minutes instead of 7. Turned the oven up to broil for the last minute of baking to completely brown the topping. This was a delicious dish. I loved the chicken sausage, and the idea that I'm eating healthier. This will be going in my recipe box for sure. A wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommasangelbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
We're not big portabella mushroom fans, but love "stuffed mushrooms" so we used large white mushrooms instead. I made the mistake of buying plain cream cheese instead of the one WITH chives/onions and just added fresh chives with sauteed onions to the cream cheese. Used a food processor and pulsed all the ingredients, including cooked sliced sausages, to a chunky texture. Added a pinch of parmesan cheese to the bottom of the mushroom caps before adding the spoonful of "stuffing", then a pinch of panko & parmesan on top. Baked in the oven for 6 min with the last 2 on broil to crisp/brown the tops. We LOVED them! Will definitely try this recipe with the Roasted Garlic Al Fresco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
These were unbelievably easy to put together and very flavorful considering it had so few ingredients. 8 minutes was the perfect cooking time for my large portabella caps. In future, I think I would make this using the small portabello mushrooms for a smaller bite. The filling is very rich due the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I knew before I ever made this recipe that it would be 5-star-worthy! I absolutely love these! The flavors of the chive & onion cream cheese and the Italian sausage meld together so well. I also love the touch of the grated parmesan chees on top to give it that little bit of crispy topping. The ONLY thing I did to this recipe is I sauted up a little bit of chopped celery and red onion because I was trying to clean them out of my refridgerator and I thought a little crunch couldn't hurt. The results are simply delicious and I am sure that these would be just as good without my additions. Al Fresco chicken sausages are, IMHO, the best sausages on the market today. I just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I just LOVED this! The flavor combination is delicious and it's incredibly quick and easy to put together. I'll definitely be making this again. Al Fresco has become one of my favorite "convenience" foods and I like that it's all natural. Thanks for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States