Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This dish was good, but not spectacular. The directions were lacking for anyone who may not have made risotto before, but luckily I had so I knew the method and didn't need to worry about the directions. Read the AR recipe for Gourmet Mushroom Risotto for better directions. I will make this one again but with some tomatoes maybe or asparagus. We just felt something was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This recipe turned out really well! I used chicken-spinach-Asiago sausage from Sam's Club, regular white rice, and a sweet Moscato wine (because that is what I like to drink). A little salty so next time I think I'll use low-salt chicken broth instead of regular. I left out the black pepper. I followed a reviewer's suggestion to add 1/2 cup of broth at a time, simmer until absorbed, stir and add another 1/2 cup, etc. Sounds like a lot of trouble, but it wasn't. I made a salad at the same time and kept an eye on it. By the time the green salad with broccoli, green onion, and tomato was made, the risotto was about done. I usually try the recipe as written, but I didn't want to risk this not turning out well and the slow addition of broth sounded more like traditional method of making risotto. My girls do not like peas, so they'd give this two stars. The one or two bites without peas got five stars. Maybe next time I'll only toss in half a cup of peas. One cup puts several peas in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dadofallgirls
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Overall good recipe. Told the kids who don't like rice that it was risotto and they ate it all! I used raw sweet italian sausage but next time I would do 1 pound sweet and 1 pound hot italian sausage and double the recipe.It was really good. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Great recipe. I made it as directed. The dish took more like an hour to reach perfect risotto consistency. I added the three cups chicken broth all at once. I was tempted to do it one cup at a time like other reviewers mentioned is typical for risotto, but this worked like a charm! My family loved it. My daughter asked me to put in more peas next time ;). I served this dish with a fresh garden salad with a light oil and vinegar dressing. Yummy! It's a winner! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
SOOOO delicious! Used short grain white rice instead and it was just as good. Browned the onions and sausage first, took it out of the pan and then did risotto. Added warmed up peas, parm cheese and sausage. Definitely making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
We use a sweet white wine like a moscato a dry wine tends to give me indigestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is delicious! It does take a long time to cook the risotto properly, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I used regular white rice. I was unsure if it needed to be cooked so I did cook it before. I used about 1 cup of chicken broth and my family was happy with how it came out. They all said they would like to see this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Disgusting. 1 hour of my life I"ll never get back! Bland, gooey, gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was a great intro to risotto. I used honey-garlic sausage instead of chicken sausage (couldn't find any), and also used sherry instead of white wine as that was what I had. Great recipe, everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States