Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was good. I make risotto often and this was a very good combo. Beware, however, that the recipe calls for Parmesan Cheese, Parsley and Black Pepper to finish the dish and they are not called out in the ingredient list. You will need them to round out the flavors of this dish. If you use the shopping list feature, they do not transfer over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Pretty good. Used moscato instead of Chardonnay, didn't use thyme (just didn't have any), minute rice, and not as much chicken stock. It was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I wasn't sure about this dish at first because the color was a bit off, but once it was ready to serve, it all came together and was terrific. I believe that the color was due to the chicken broth I used. I was making the simple whole roasted chicken recipe from the AR site and made the broth from the parts from the insde of the roaster. It was as fresh as it gets w/ no salt and a ton of flavor from the onion, celery,peppercorns, and bay leaf . I also removed the fat from it prior to adding it in and it was outstanding. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of adding in some sliced mushrooms that I had on hand. It was incredible and soooo worth the time and effort. The sausage was a delicious addition! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Loved it! I've dabbled with a couple risottos, never quite coming out "right" so to say (especially the Milanese!) and often tasting to much of parmasan. This was absolutely fantastic though! As with many people, I did change a couple ingredients. I couldn't find chicken sausage, so I went with veal (went superbly with the thyme), also, I was never a big fan of onions so I tried a large shallot instead and it was PERFECT! Definitely going to cook this up again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
When are you supposed to cut the sausage? Also, what could you substitute for the wine? I used chicken broth and recipe was tasty. Just a reminder for the good cooks contributing recipes to leave in details for us beginners. THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
It was great and easy to make, I made a few changes, I also added 2 tsp of butter at the end, but I used hot turkey sausage and took out the peas, I put in 6 tbsp of parm cheese at the end and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Awesome and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent, scrumptious, and easy to make risotto. Like a few others, I have never made risotto, but now that I know how easy it is, I will be making it again. This is an excellent recipe and will be using it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Awesome! I use hot turkey sausage instead but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that I could use some chicken spinach feta sausage in, and this sounded pretty good. I've never really made risotto, but I had some arborio rice so I gave it a shot. I also used broccoli instead of pease, and it turned out fabulous. This will diffinitely make it's way into the normal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States