Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Kitchenista Jane
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was very easy to prepare. I enjoyed the flavor of it, and using the white wine in addition to chicken stock was really enhancing. I used Orzo on hand and it cooked just the same. I also served it with tomato slices, feeling that a bit more color was needed. LOVE the chicken sausage in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was an excellent first-timers shortcut version of risotto. The sausage gave it an amazing flavor. I did have to substitute regular jasmine rice in place of the arborio rice because that's what I had on hand, so I ended up using 4 cups of chicken broth to get the rice tender. The Parmesan and parsley mentioned in the directions are not included in the ingredient list, so I just added the 1/4 cup of Parmesan to the dish and then sprinkled a little more on each individual serving. I left the parsley out because I didn't have any on hand. All of us went back for second helpings and my husband told me I could make this dish again any time I wanted, which I'm sure will be often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Made this tonight! First time ever making risotto...not sure if I did it right. But I thought it came out great! The Al Fresco Chicken sausage is really good! I did omit the wine and replaced it with chicken broth. Definitely a recipe to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
While this is a totally excellent recipe, even if this was the 1st time I have ever made risotto. YUM YUM! I can tell you I couldn't find the Arborio rice for the life of me. So after a few trips to several stores. I had to google it to find out what it was and found it was a medium grain rice...Lucky for me, I had it at home ;-) The other thing I ran into with this recipe was, the fact that no one had the exact flavor of sausage other then it in the fresh variety, because of issues with availability in stores. So I made do. Because of this, I had to cook the sausage prior to following the directions, then noticed the company photo shows sliced or chunked sausage, but no where did it state to do so, so I went ahead and sliced them after I cooked them almost done. And proceeded with the directions. This sausages are wonderful. The flavor of the recipe was hmm soo good. I can't wait to try other risotto recipes. The last thing I will note, is there is 2 ingredients missing in the list of ingredients but was stated in the directions. And glad I caught that and had them on hand. I see this error and want others to note, AR needs to add them ;-) But this recipe will be a repeater in my house. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was good. I make risotto often and this was a very good combo. Beware, however, that the recipe calls for Parmesan Cheese, Parsley and Black Pepper to finish the dish and they are not called out in the ingredient list. You will need them to round out the flavors of this dish. If you use the shopping list feature, they do not transfer over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Pretty good. Used moscato instead of Chardonnay, didn't use thyme (just didn't have any), minute rice, and not as much chicken stock. It was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I wasn't sure about this dish at first because the color was a bit off, but once it was ready to serve, it all came together and was terrific. I believe that the color was due to the chicken broth I used. I was making the simple whole roasted chicken recipe from the AR site and made the broth from the parts from the insde of the roaster. It was as fresh as it gets w/ no salt and a ton of flavor from the onion, celery,peppercorns, and bay leaf . I also removed the fat from it prior to adding it in and it was outstanding. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of adding in some sliced mushrooms that I had on hand. It was incredible and soooo worth the time and effort. The sausage was a delicious addition! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Loved it! I've dabbled with a couple risottos, never quite coming out "right" so to say (especially the Milanese!) and often tasting to much of parmasan. This was absolutely fantastic though! As with many people, I did change a couple ingredients. I couldn't find chicken sausage, so I went with veal (went superbly with the thyme), also, I was never a big fan of onions so I tried a large shallot instead and it was PERFECT! Definitely going to cook this up again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
When are you supposed to cut the sausage? Also, what could you substitute for the wine? I used chicken broth and recipe was tasty. Just a reminder for the good cooks contributing recipes to leave in details for us beginners. THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
It was great and easy to make, I made a few changes, I also added 2 tsp of butter at the end, but I used hot turkey sausage and took out the peas, I put in 6 tbsp of parm cheese at the end and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States