Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Due to the availability of the fresh sausage in my area I substituted fully cooked Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage. I browned them in the pan before thinly slicing and quartering the sausage. I continued on with the rest of the recipe as is using orzo in place of Aborio rice and adding the sausage back in when the orzo was done. I do have to say, though, that 15 minutes cooking time is a tad too long for orzo. I am glad I read the directions before starting or I may have missed the parmesan and parsley. I used freshly grated parmesan cheese as well as fresh parsley. This was good but not sure if I would make it again using the saugage - maybe without. Love the ease of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING!!! Even my super-picky 6 year old loved it. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I just upped the chicken broth. The parmesan cheese listed in the recipe isn't in the ingredients, but I just stirred in 1/2 cup with peas. So, SO good. Will definitely make again and again and recommend to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I couldn't find the raw Italian chicken sausage, so I used the sundried tomato and basil one. Being that it was already cooked it required less cookin time..so if I make this again and use the same sausage, I would brown and then add it back in the risotto the last 10 minutes. I added a little pepper and italian seasoning, fresh parsley to the risotto at the last. Served wiith parmesan, it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
We really weren't blown away with this. It was OK, but won't make our regular rotation. Like others, it was my first time making risotto and I was intimidated, but followed the recipe (except for timing - mine took about 45 minutes) and the consistency was right on. We definitely liked the Al Fresco sausages and will use them again, just not for this recipe. - Oh, and there's no mention of Parmesan or Parsley in the ingredient list, so don't forget them when you make your grocery list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Having cooked risotto for years (first learnt in High school) I thought this recipe was just average. I did add a few mushrooms and some sweetcorn to the dish. The sausages I find are not really to my families likeing, the consistancy is so unlike a regular sausage. Glad I tried this recipe, just not sure I will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Kitchenista Jane
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was very easy to prepare. I enjoyed the flavor of it, and using the white wine in addition to chicken stock was really enhancing. I used Orzo on hand and it cooked just the same. I also served it with tomato slices, feeling that a bit more color was needed. LOVE the chicken sausage in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenista Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pine, Arizona, USA
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was an excellent first-timers shortcut version of risotto. The sausage gave it an amazing flavor. I did have to substitute regular jasmine rice in place of the arborio rice because that's what I had on hand, so I ended up using 4 cups of chicken broth to get the rice tender. The Parmesan and parsley mentioned in the directions are not included in the ingredient list, so I just added the 1/4 cup of Parmesan to the dish and then sprinkled a little more on each individual serving. I left the parsley out because I didn't have any on hand. All of us went back for second helpings and my husband told me I could make this dish again any time I wanted, which I'm sure will be often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Made this tonight! First time ever making risotto...not sure if I did it right. But I thought it came out great! The Al Fresco Chicken sausage is really good! I did omit the wine and replaced it with chicken broth. Definitely a recipe to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
While this is a totally excellent recipe, even if this was the 1st time I have ever made risotto. YUM YUM! I can tell you I couldn't find the Arborio rice for the life of me. So after a few trips to several stores. I had to google it to find out what it was and found it was a medium grain rice...Lucky for me, I had it at home ;-) The other thing I ran into with this recipe was, the fact that no one had the exact flavor of sausage other then it in the fresh variety, because of issues with availability in stores. So I made do. Because of this, I had to cook the sausage prior to following the directions, then noticed the company photo shows sliced or chunked sausage, but no where did it state to do so, so I went ahead and sliced them after I cooked them almost done. And proceeded with the directions. This sausages are wonderful. The flavor of the recipe was hmm soo good. I can't wait to try other risotto recipes. The last thing I will note, is there is 2 ingredients missing in the list of ingredients but was stated in the directions. And glad I caught that and had them on hand. I see this error and want others to note, AR needs to add them ;-) But this recipe will be a repeater in my house. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was good. I make risotto often and this was a very good combo. Beware, however, that the recipe calls for Parmesan Cheese, Parsley and Black Pepper to finish the dish and they are not called out in the ingredient list. You will need them to round out the flavors of this dish. If you use the shopping list feature, they do not transfer over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States