Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I did love this recipe, HOWEVER: the recipe doesn't say it, but I think that the dish will look a lot more appetizing if you brown the sausage. The recipe also doesn't say to cut the sausage, I did. Brown the sausage FIRST (either cut or whole) and THEN add the onions and continue the recipe as written. I Didn't use the peas because of food allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. I made exactly as written, but I think next time I would maybe try using regular white rice cooked in wine and broth. This meal was just a little too mushy, but the flavors were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This Risotto is so worth the work, all the flavors of the garlic, thyme, Chardonnay really work well together! I also added in some sauteed baby bella mushrooms because we love them so much, served this with a side Caesar salad..it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was my first Risotto, I was always intimidated to try it. This recipe was very easy to follow! Great flavors, the whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Didn't care for the sausage in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
So good! only thing is i didn't have peas so i sub. with mushrooms! It is absolutely deli-sh! will be making this again. Update: Made again and was just as amazing! This time with peas and yes I added the mushrooms again since they was good the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Loved this risotto. I didn't use the wine just all chicken stock and it turned out great. I had my chicken stock in a separate pan on the stove and added it hot into my risotto pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Excellent simple risotto. I had to jazz it up to our taste with extra garlic and onion and some saffron. Yummy satisfying and rich! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
A hit with the whole family! Recipe unclear. Parmesan cheese isn't even in the ingredients list and it says put 1/4 up in at one point and the remainder at the end. Ended up just adding another 1/4 cup and it was great : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Some very important things to keep in mind when making this recipe, to make it as delicious as possible:) 1. Do NOT use regular rice. You must use risotta rice. It kind of defeats the purpose of the recipe if you don't. Risotta rice is denser and more pasta like than regular rice. It's delicious! You'll be happy you did. 2. Make sure the wine is almost fully absorded before moving on. 3. The broth portion of this recipe takes about 30-40 minutes. You should heat the broth on low in a separate pan and add 1/2 cup at a time and stir until is absorbed. This is what makes the rice so flavorful. 4. Use FRESH parm, not the jarred stuff, about a 1/2 cup to full cup. Yummers! 4. Upon completing this, the one thing I would do different is either grill or really brown my sausage before adding it in, I think this would make for a much nicer flavor. I make risotta all the time, tonight I had this chicken sausage on my hands and didn't know what to do with it. Came across this recipe and was thrilled for the suggestion. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States