Italian Chicken Sausage Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was an alright risotto. I got a 12 oz package of sweet Italian Chicken Sausage from Trader Joes, and only used 3 of the 5 sausages, and it was a ton. Other than that I kept the ingredients the same (used about 1/2 cup of parmesan). The flavors were fine, but nothing too exciting. This was easy and came together pretty quickly. I don't think I'd make this one again - I much preferred the bacon risotto recipe from this site or a butternut squash one I also make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My wife liked the peas, I did not. Overall, might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe was ok but not loved at our house. It is still time consuming and not as flavorful as other risotto recipes. We will not be repeating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was a hearty, easy recipe. But as for flavor, my friend and I shrugged and said "meh." Good, not great, and wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is an easy wonderful recipe! Especially if you are scared of making risotto. This is a pretty fool proof recipe. I had Italian Sausage, so I pulled the casing off and added a tablespoon of sugar. It was divine! This would be a great recipe for a football get together or for a cold winter night. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I thought this tasted good. I cooked it on my burner on 6 the whole time. The onions and sausage took 12 minutes instead of the 3, at the beginning. A pan with 3" sides worked fine for everything. Like other arborio rice recipes, I have tried with wine, the alcohol taste seemed to still linger. However, the sweet chicken Italian sausage kind of cut through that taste some. It was the perfect compliment. Only change I made was adding a pinch or two of garlic and onion powder. This is not a repeat dish, as I just don't care for rice and wine, but it made a descent Friday evening dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Loved this never made risotto before, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Loved this and it was my first risotto. I cooked it in a dutch oven pan and only had canned peas to add at the end but it was plenty flavorful and very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
So easy to make and not that long if you got a book handy while stirring occasionally. All my friends and family love it bc I use sweet sausage not chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmoShorty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I did love this recipe, HOWEVER: the recipe doesn't say it, but I think that the dish will look a lot more appetizing if you brown the sausage. The recipe also doesn't say to cut the sausage, I did. Brown the sausage FIRST (either cut or whole) and THEN add the onions and continue the recipe as written. I Didn't use the peas because of food allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States