Italian Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
ok peeps originally this is a peasant type of desert originating in Puglia south eastern Italy. Better known as Calzone di ricotta. it is a dence moist somewhat coarse texture and dose not rise like a cake kudos to Lynn you stuck to the original recipe as i recalled my Nonna making years ago you can also omit the rum extract and juice as well as replace the powdered sugar with granulated thanks ever so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I cut the sugar slightly - used two eggs and ameretto liqueur instead of almond extract. Also, used a graham pie crust and it turned out great. Glad I found this simple and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a great dessert as 4 of us in our family is on the South Beach diet. I made powdered sugar from Splenda and followed the advice of the other reviewers and it turned out great. My husband also has diabetes so this is a great dessert for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Extremely nice, very simple and effective, a little less cheese wourld also be effective
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I made individual cakes in ramekins and I omitted the rum and almond extracts since I didn't have either and I crushed spice snap cookies for a thin crust, and this recipe turned out great! It has a light texture with just the right amount of sweet, citrus flavour. This recipe is also great if you are trying to watch what you eat because its so low in calories and fat compared to a New York Style cheesecake. A delicious, satisfying dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRIMSON_CHAOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I tried this recipe and it was easy and delicious. I did have one problem. It came out rather flat. I solved this problem by adding a few tablespoons of flour to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Think ricotta cream rather than cheesecake and this is an excellent dish...if you think of cheesecake it is a little disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I don't know if it's because I used fat-free ricotta or a 9 3/4" springform pan, but the cheesecake was only about 3/4" high. I was too embarassed to bring it to a dinner party the next night. Since I wasn't going to bring it, I though I'd taste it - it is too coarse a texture for my liking. Also, I thought it was too citrus-y tasting. I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
On important process left out by the recipe donor and the 1st reviewer is that most cheesecake recipes call for DRAINING the ricotta cheese by squeezing the ricotta thru a cheesecloth sack!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
I followed the receipe exactly, it was very watery, extremly sweet and it turned out flat. I would not recommend this receipe to anyone who dose not have a huge sweet tooth and dose not mind a flat watery cheesecake. Sorry to who ever submitted the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States