Italian Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
My husband and I really loved this recipe, though you definitely don't know there's chesse in the bread! It could have a bit more of the spicey flavor but it was still great and will be made again! I also made this without the bread machine and it turned out perfect. I didn't use a bread pan, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atsugi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Pretty good but could have been better. With the cheese I used I give this 3 stars (I used Mozz). It just lacked flavor. I'd like to think if I had the right cheese as suggested in the recipe that this bread would get 4 stars for sure. I did add an additional 1/4 c. of olive oil as the other reviewers mentioned to do and I think it really helped make this bread not dry. I think I'd make this again just to give it another chance. Only with a more zesty cheese and garlic powder, maybe even some freshly diced onions and of course the added oil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dhea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudy Cranford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Excellent flavor! I added garlic powder as per other reviewer's suggestions as well as olive oil to bring it all together. This is even better when toasted! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Thank you for this great recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Since we don't care for very spicy foods, I just used plain Monterey Jack cheese and it was absolutely delicious. The bread makes for a great grilled cheese sandwich as well as being great just toasted with butter. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I couldn't decide whether to give this recipe 4 or 5 stars, but it was very good! I added 1 Tablespoon of oil, and substituted a half teaspoon of the salt for garlic salt. We only had cheddar and mozza, so used both of those for the cheese. My loaf did not really 'cave' or 'collapse', as others said, but the top was not perfect. The taste, however, was good, and the rest of the loaf sliced well. It was still quite 'peppery', even though I reduced the pepper by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I don't have a bread maker, but I do have a Kitchen Aid mixer. I thought this would be a nice challenge for me to try. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the sugar and warm water for ten minutes. Then, I added in all the dry ingredients. (I cut back on the pepper a bit and added garlic powder, but kept everything else the same.) I added in the cheese last, using sharp cheddar. When I used the dough hook, I had to add a tbsp. of oil to get the ingredients to grab together and jump on the hook. I kneaded it for about five minutes with the hook, then set the dough in a oiled bowl on my warm oven to rise, covered with saran wrap and a towel. I let it rise twice, once for an hour in the bowl and once in the bread pan for a half hour. Then, I baked it in a 350* oven for about a half hour or so. (I don't usually time my breads. My instincts are pretty good about when it smells done.) This smells heavenly. I can't wait to serve it with dinner. Super easy for me. A bread maker is not needed for this recipe! EDITED: This turned out perfectly. Making this without a bread machine, I had no issues with the bread collapsing. And the flavor was unbelievable. I'd make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This bread has a good overall taste; the herbs being the first thing tasted with the cheese as the undertone. I can see where it might have too much of an herb flavor for some people, though. The crust is just "OK", but it has a fairly fine crumb, considering it was made in a bread machine. I think this bread shows off its flavors better when toasted and it makes a tasty sandwich fare. I believe if you removed the dough once kneaded and mixed from your bread machine, then finished it by hand, (try it in a dinner roll form, perhaps), it would be improved. I think it has good potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
this is a good serviceable bread, but you don't taste cheese very much after all and the herbs are not so overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I've substituted in Asiago for the pepperjack and do it by hand. i let it rise in a bowl until about double and then transfer it to a cookie sheet to rise again, although without too much handling/punching down. everyone always loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States