Italian Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I did make a few changes, made the dough in my bread machine, and let it have its first rise. I shaped the dough in to a round and placed on a cornmeal covered baking tray. Covered with a damp cloth for 30 minutes to rise while my oven warmed (350 degrees). I spayed the crust 3 times in the first 7 minutes of baking with warm water. Baked for 30 minutes then removed loaf from the oven, coated with oil and topped with Italian Cheese, Italian Seasoning and a little crushed red pepper before cooking for a further 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I was not a fan of this recipe. The italian season was a little too strong and you could not taste the cheese at all. We were a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Didn't use bread machine. Divided into six mini's. Might top with a bit of additional cheese once removed from oven. Pulled the 2 leftover mini's out of the freezer. Toasted whole, then sliced and toasted again, added cheese, smoked turkey, tomatoes, lettuce, sub dressing. Great sammy bun. EDIT: Made again adding 2 T evoo, half cup of Jack, 1 cup sharp cheddar, and 2 t. red pepper flakes. Shaped into 2 baguettes and gently deflated them after second rise leaving me with 2 fantastic flat bread loafs (think thin buns).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This has good flavor but, apparently too much yeast. It fluffed over the top of my breadmaker. Next time I'll start with 2 tsp. yeast. I must say it's a very versatile recipe to accommodate cheese or herbs you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
worked for me...tho i used drk b. sugar...and i will forsure make this again...did all in the bread machine and i will be happy to pass this recipe on...i didn't change anything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed the advice of tat2whttrsh since I don't have a bread machine. I also added 1 tsp. of garlic powder. The bread turned out great and went nicely with my baked ziti for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good bread! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added some EVOO (about 3 tbsps.) and about 1 tsp. garlic powder. Other than that I made it as written and it turned out great. I will be making this one again! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good! I made it with a combination of moz and cheddar cheese. I would add Garlic powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Excellent taste and texture. Made exactly to recipe standard. My bread did not collapse at all. Very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Like some other reviewers I used the french bread setting. I eyeballed the quantity of cheese, and it caved a little because I used too much. But it was still quite good, flavor and texture were wonderful. I did not have "italian seasoning" so i substituted "Mrs.Dash tomato basil and garlic" (close enough for my taste, and was what I had on hand). Tasted a lot like the Italian Herb cheese bread of a certain chain of fast food Sub shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States