Italian Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Didn't use bread machine. Divided into six mini's. Might top with a bit of additional cheese once removed from oven. Pulled the 2 leftover mini's out of the freezer. Toasted whole, then sliced and toasted again, added cheese, smoked turkey, tomatoes, lettuce, sub dressing. Great sammy bun. EDIT: Made again adding 2 T evoo, half cup of Jack, 1 cup sharp cheddar, and 2 t. red pepper flakes. Shaped into 2 baguettes and gently deflated them after second rise leaving me with 2 fantastic flat bread loafs (think thin buns).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This has good flavor but, apparently too much yeast. It fluffed over the top of my breadmaker. Next time I'll start with 2 tsp. yeast. I must say it's a very versatile recipe to accommodate cheese or herbs you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
worked for me...tho i used drk b. sugar...and i will forsure make this again...did all in the bread machine and i will be happy to pass this recipe on...i didn't change anything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed the advice of tat2whttrsh since I don't have a bread machine. I also added 1 tsp. of garlic powder. The bread turned out great and went nicely with my baked ziti for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good bread! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added some EVOO (about 3 tbsps.) and about 1 tsp. garlic powder. Other than that I made it as written and it turned out great. I will be making this one again! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good! I made it with a combination of moz and cheddar cheese. I would add Garlic powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Excellent taste and texture. Made exactly to recipe standard. My bread did not collapse at all. Very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Like some other reviewers I used the french bread setting. I eyeballed the quantity of cheese, and it caved a little because I used too much. But it was still quite good, flavor and texture were wonderful. I did not have "italian seasoning" so i substituted "Mrs.Dash tomato basil and garlic" (close enough for my taste, and was what I had on hand). Tasted a lot like the Italian Herb cheese bread of a certain chain of fast food Sub shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
My husband and I really loved this recipe, though you definitely don't know there's chesse in the bread! It could have a bit more of the spicey flavor but it was still great and will be made again! I also made this without the bread machine and it turned out perfect. I didn't use a bread pan, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atsugi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Pretty good but could have been better. With the cheese I used I give this 3 stars (I used Mozz). It just lacked flavor. I'd like to think if I had the right cheese as suggested in the recipe that this bread would get 4 stars for sure. I did add an additional 1/4 c. of olive oil as the other reviewers mentioned to do and I think it really helped make this bread not dry. I think I'd make this again just to give it another chance. Only with a more zesty cheese and garlic powder, maybe even some freshly diced onions and of course the added oil. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dhea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States