Italian Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I did make a few changes, made the dough in my bread machine, and let it have its first rise. I shaped the dough in to a round and placed on a cornmeal covered baking tray. Covered with a damp cloth for 30 minutes to rise while my oven warmed (350 degrees). I spayed the crust 3 times in the first 7 minutes of baking with warm water. Baked for 30 minutes then removed loaf from the oven, coated with oil and topped with Italian Cheese, Italian Seasoning and a little crushed red pepper before cooking for a further 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I was not a fan of this recipe. The italian season was a little too strong and you could not taste the cheese at all. We were a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Didn't use bread machine. Divided into six mini's. Might top with a bit of additional cheese once removed from oven. Pulled the 2 leftover mini's out of the freezer. Toasted whole, then sliced and toasted again, added cheese, smoked turkey, tomatoes, lettuce, sub dressing. Great sammy bun. EDIT: Made again adding 2 T evoo, half cup of Jack, 1 cup sharp cheddar, and 2 t. red pepper flakes. Shaped into 2 baguettes and gently deflated them after second rise leaving me with 2 fantastic flat bread loafs (think thin buns).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This has good flavor but, apparently too much yeast. It fluffed over the top of my breadmaker. Next time I'll start with 2 tsp. yeast. I must say it's a very versatile recipe to accommodate cheese or herbs you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
worked for me...tho i used drk b. sugar...and i will forsure make this again...did all in the bread machine and i will be happy to pass this recipe on...i didn't change anything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I followed the advice of tat2whttrsh since I don't have a bread machine. I also added 1 tsp. of garlic powder. The bread turned out great and went nicely with my baked ziti for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good bread! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added some EVOO (about 3 tbsps.) and about 1 tsp. garlic powder. Other than that I made it as written and it turned out great. I will be making this one again! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good! I made it with a combination of moz and cheddar cheese. I would add Garlic powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Excellent taste and texture. Made exactly to recipe standard. My bread did not collapse at all. Very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Like some other reviewers I used the french bread setting. I eyeballed the quantity of cheese, and it caved a little because I used too much. But it was still quite good, flavor and texture were wonderful. I did not have "italian seasoning" so i substituted "Mrs.Dash tomato basil and garlic" (close enough for my taste, and was what I had on hand). Tasted a lot like the Italian Herb cheese bread of a certain chain of fast food Sub shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States