Italian Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe twice. The first time, I followed the ingredients per recipe. The bread is delicious when toasted and with a hint of butter. The second time, I did not have pepperjack cheese so I used mozzarrella cheese and threw in some sundried tomatoes. Turned out great with an orange/red color to the bread. Overall a good recipe and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is an awesome recipe, now one of my favs! I basically followed TheBritishBaker's review with just a couple changes. I used the dough setting on my bread machine. I thought the dough looked a bit too sticky so I added one more tablespoon of flour as it was mixing. When the dough cycle was finished I sliced into two pieces of dough, rounded them nicely and placed on my cooking stone that was sprinkled with cornmeal. I let it rise for 30 minutes as BritishBaker suggested and placed in the oven at 350 and cooked for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes I pulled the stone out, brushed the bread with olive oil and sprinkled with garlic salt and cooked for 15 more minutes. Absolute perfection. I loved the sweetness with the sugar along side the peppery punch. Crispy crust with soft inside but not too soft that buttering is impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I took the advice in the reviews and added 1/4 cup of olive oil and this bread was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this with mozzarella instead of pepper jack and it tasted wonderful. However the top sunk in and it was so airy in the middle it was hard to slice. I wondered if I should have used the bread machine yeast instead of the active dry, or if I should have waited to add the cheese until after the first rising cycle was done. Will definitely try again because the taste was great, but I will research my bread machine and cheese breads before I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was the nastiest bread ever. The pepper was completely overwhelming!! It was all I could taste and it burned my mouth it was so strong. I couldnt even begin to taste the cheese in this bread which is why I made it in the first place. Renaming this "Pepper Bread" would be a far more accurate description.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe! Easy and delicious. I paired it with a Beef Mushroom Barley soup and it was a winner! Will experiment with other types of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina_Papou
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Great bread! I used cheddar cheese instead and made it with my kitchen aid mixer. Instead of the italian seasoning i used thyme, rosemary, oregano, basil and parsley for flavor. My husband loves it but then again he loves everything I make lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Excellent texture & flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was pretty good but it was way too sweet. Next time I will cut the amount of sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Tried this yesterday, not one slice left. I used sharp cheese instead of the pepperjack! It was excellent! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States