Italian Capezzoli di Venere (Chocolate Truffles of Venus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I just made this recipe for Valentine's Day tomorrow. I used 1 teaspoon of Brandy instead of 1/4 cup. The filling was perfect, not thin at all, so was easy to roll. I also used chopped hazelnuts instead of chestnuts. The taste was great! The only thing I would do next time is pour the white chocolate over the truffles on a cooling rack to make the coating look cleaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star Chavez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Didn't like these.. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I did not try this recipe but I wanted to thank you for the tip about the food coloring. I thought it was just that I had the stove set too high. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
TY for sharing this! I have been wanting to try this for more than 15 years, ever since I first saw them in the movie, Amadeus, haha! I appreciate the detailed directions. This is definitely a time-intensive recipe and not one for a beginner or those who are impatient. But I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Rather time consuming, but delicious! Pretty too... I used fresh chestnuts and premium chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is not an easy recipe to make. i guess if your more used to dealing with candy it is probably much easier but it was my first attempt at something like this (I wanted to surprise my wife). They did turn out tasty very much so actually but I had several challenges that I didn't know how to deal with. I would appreciate an email from someone who has experience making these so maybe I can ask some questions and do better next time :) email is tac62@sbcglobal.net THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Cawthorne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow, wow, and WOW!! The translation from Italian is actually "Venus' Nipples." If you've ever seen the movie "Amadeus," Salieri offers them to Mozart's wife and she giggles because the name is so naughty - but I digress. These are the real deal, authentic taste. The puree of chestnut adds a unique depth, characteristic of these gems. It's true that they're time consuming, but incredibly worth it. I have to point out that the recipe submitter said "high quality" chocolate, and that cannot be stressed enough. Your product will only taste as good as the chocolate you use. I used Lindt, which made for an incredibly delicious treat. Take the time to temper the white chocolate as described - it's spot on. If you melt it slowly, it will retain its lovely sheen, which gives your product high appeal. Kudos for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by salyru
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
These truffles are heavenly!!! Preparing them is a little time-consuming but your efforts will be repaid. The recipe here is very detailed and easy to follow. Try to use fresh chestnuts if they are available. It gives the truffles a richer taste. For variety, add finely chopped toasted almonds or freshly grated nutmeg to the truffle mixture. Thank you, Ms. LaLeeRu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States