Italian Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
My husband and I LOVED this!! We used to go to to an Italian restaurant all the time when we were dating and loved dipping thier bread in olive oil and herbs. This was even better! I skipped the red pepper flakes and didn't grind anything. In addition to the fresh garlic, I used some dried roasted garlic. Used a whole grain ciabatta for dipping. Soooo good!! We had this, and the bread for dinner with Jamie's Minestrone from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I served this to guests. They hardly touched it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Used kosher salt. Great to keep as a dry mix. When guests are coming, combine with olive oil (EVOO) and let flavors meld as long as you can. Stir well before serving, and serve in a large platter so everyone will have room to gather and dip; keep napkins handy and warn your guests 'cause this WILL drip! Thanks for the post, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I don't have spice grinder so skipped that part but loved this dip. I did let it sit in oil for about a half hour before serving. I also forgot to put in fresh garlic but it was still good. I have been eatig this for the last 3 nights . Thanks Oh the best part is these are spices that are always in the spice rack. I had to come back and add this in. Icut up some red potatoes and tossed in olive oil and then this spice and roasted and they were wonderfullI had to come back one more time. My neighbor works for carrabas and when i showed him this blend he said looks like what they use but they use fresh herbs. FRESH WOULD BE TO COSTLY AND DOESN'T LAST SO THIS IS A GREAT MIX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
My hubby and I really like this recipe. I like to mix some of the spice mixture with a softened stick of butter. Spread on French or Italian bread, pop in the toaster oven, & broil to desired browness. Thanks Ginger, for this great recipe. We served this with California Chicken Spaghetti from this site and a salad. What a GREAT MEAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I have made this many times for parties and such and it is always a big hit served with a crusty italian bread for dipping. Spicy goodness! I sometimes serve with parmesan and asiago cheeses to mix in! We love it. I have also used this for italian salad dressing starter or even meat rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Just as good, if not better than what you get in an italian restaurant. It's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Excellent!!! Deserves more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Tasty dip with loads of flavour. I gave it four stars because it is much too spicy! I would probably reduce the red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Of the two oil dips I made this weekend, this was Husband's favorite. It was way too spicy for me - I preferred the tangy 'Spicy Oil and Vinegar Dip' from this site - but he couldn't get enough. I used a pestle and mortar to grind the spices, mixed them in with the oil, then let it refrigerate overnight. We had both dips with more Italian bread than I care to remember, and salad. Delicious. Thanks, Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States