Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by steelerguy
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This simple recipe worked fantastically for me. Per the recipe I used only AP flour, would probably do 50/50 AP and bread next time, but really not an issue. The egg wash gives it a fantastic shiny crust, with the cut allowing a nice amount of rise as it cooks. I actually formed a single 12" long loaf out of it for garlic/sandwich bread and also doubled the olive oil to 1 T. for a bit more flavor. Also just let it rise right on the baking sheet so no moving. The cut did deflate it a bit, but no worries, right back up in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Wow. I make this all the time now. It is completely delicious and makes the house smell fantastic. I cut the salt. I have used all-purpose flower and bread flower and a mix. Great all the time. Give it a try! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Burkulater
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Pefect! Made it exactly as directed and it was fantastic! It would be wonderful as sandwich bread and it made perfect bread cubes for Thanksgiving stuffing. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is delicious. It is great with soups. I did also use half bread flour and half regular. And when it was in the machine, I found myself having to pour in quite a bit of extra water. Also, it needed an hour rising, and it helped to have it rise on a warm oven. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Good recipe. It makes two mini loafs. Tastes just like the Italian bread you get with take out. The steps for the machine are 1. Place ingredients in bread machine and start it. 2. Machine will knead the bread and then go on to rise the bread 3. After the rise the bread machine will beat the dough down. 4. After it's done beating the dough down that is when you want to take it out. 5. Cut in two, put on parchment paper for 40 minutes cover in plastic wrap with a towel on it. 6. Bake 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Great bread! I used bread flour, and baked in my long perforated italian bread pans....looked and tasted like they came from the bakery! Also, I misted the loaves and the oven 3 times at the beginning of the bake (mist all over, close the door, wait a minute, repeat) to get the steamed crust effect. 35 minutes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Easy to make and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is wonderful, easy and delicious! Due to the number of recipes I was juggling at once and the coolness in my kitchen this time of year, I did the 40-minute warming in my oven's warming drawer which was set to medium. (The oven itself was also on.) Because I was using my warming drawer, I allowed the loaves to rise directly on the baking sheet which had the cornmeal on it. This worked great and I was VERY pleased with the results! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This has been my go to recipe for year. I thought it only fair to give it the rating it deserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States