Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
LOVE!!! This is the ONLY recipe I use for Italian bread. After trying a few other ones nothing compares to this one. I make it plain, or throw in some garlic powder, parsley and oregano. I like to use it for grilled cheese samis but have to bake 2 because the 1st loaf gets devoured by my family topped with butter and honey. Must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times and I always liked the flavor, but something wasn't right. The last time I used 2 and 1/2 teaspoons of yeast instead of the 2 and 1/4 teaspoons and I separated the dough equally and shaped them into loaves. I placed them into two greased loaf pans and let them rise for ONE AND A HALF HOURS instead of 40 min. This made all the difference! It was so much lighter and fluffier. The bread before was so dense. It is saltier than some other breads but I liked it that way, but if you don't like salty, I would suggest cutting it down to 1 teaspoon like others have suggested. I think if you are just going to make a loaf without a pan you should make it one large loaf instead of 2 smaller ones and adjust cooking time because when you make 2 loaves they are very small, even in a loaf pan it barely rises past the top. I also stopped cutting the top, I don't think it has much effect on the bread and mine never looked good ;) As for the egg wash, I kept it because I feel it makes the top much crustier I did find more success with a deeper brown/more attractive crust with an egg yolk wash instead of a whole egg wash. If you hate to waste, just make yourself some scrambled egg white to put on a sandwich with your yummy homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it turned out delicious! Next time I'd like to make one large loaf though, instead of two small loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarieIsMe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
The bread tasted good but moving it to the baking sheet causes it to fall flat. Against my better judgement I followed those instructions and it was flat. I'll make this again and let it rise on the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Smetana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Wow!!! What a great recipe, super easy and fun to do with the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
After reading reviews, I followed some recommendations. I used only a tsp of salt. I don't have a bread machine, so used my stand mixer with a dough hook, covered the dough and let rise 30 min. I punched it down and shaped the loaves on baking sheet with parchment and let raise for 30 minutes. Didn't use cornmeal, made diagonal cuts and brushed it with the egg mixture. What a wonderful crust and flavor. My husband and I had to have a couple of slices right from the oven! It is going to go great with the homemade wedding soup later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This was wonderful! (I used half bread flour and half all-purpose.) The texture was nice and soft inside, slightly crisper, chewier crust. My son said this was his favorite, of all the breads I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Just made this most excellent French bread. Did everything according to the recipe, only I did not raise dough on separate cutting board, I raised on the baking sheet. This is the best recipe, I can't wait to try it with some Italian spices, that some have suggested. The crust is so nice and crunchy, my husband loved this...thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
First rise was good. 2nd rise and the loaves fell flat moving them onto the pizza stone. Did not rise after after baking. Will not do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I switched out 1 1/2 cups of bread flour with white whole wheat bread flour and added 1 tbs Italian Spices and 2 tsp garlic powder. Made it more of a country loaf, very tasty, and boy did it smell great cooking!. Family loved it! I also let the bread rise on my bread pan. The second time I mace it I froze one loaf before rising for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States