Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I made this bread to have with the Italian Sausage Soup recipe also on this site. I followed the recipe exactly. We enjoyed it very much and I will make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
We loved this bread--had a nice crust and soft interior and was so delicious! The recipe is very adaptable to a manual process--I kneaded it for about 5 minutes after mixing. I made one big loaf, used a little less salt than specified, and did not use the egg wash or sesame seeds. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This turned out so good! The only reason I'm giving it a 4 is because the dough was so soupy when I took it out of the machine I had to add at least another 1/2 cup of flour for me to even be able to touch it. I had to sub granulated sugar for brown (I didn't have any), but it still tasted great. I also didn't have time to let them rise all the way - but was pleased to see it rise further in the oven. I also forgot to add the pan of water during baking (oops). With all of the changes/mistakes...it still turned out fabulous. There were no leftovers. This is one darn good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My whole family loves this bread. I have also had this bread requested several times at family get togethers. Sometimes I follow the recipe exactly, but most of the time I skip the egg wash and omit the sesame seeds. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JINKIESSCOOBY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
It's the first time I made Italian bread and this receipe made it very simple for me. My family loved it..THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
If you are looking for a classic Italian bread recipe - this is it! It is so easy being able to prepare it in your bread machine then just put it in the oven! I give it 5 FULL stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I was a little confused by the instructions. It tells you to divide the dough in 2 but the recipe is for one loaf. Anyway, it was delicious . It was my first attempt at Italian Bread and my family all loved it! I also used your tip about baking it the extra five minutes while the lasagna I made was cooling. It worked great. Warm and crusty. Thanks, Verla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is the best bread recipe I have found. I have been looking for a recipe for light and fluffy italian bread with a good crust. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This was very tasty. I think next time i will just make one loaf though because the two loaves yeilded pretty small slices of bread. put garlic butter on it and served with baked ziti and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a really good bread, but the recipe is VERY vague. For example, it says to shape the dough into loaves, placing the seam side down...what seam? See now, if I didn't know any better, I wouldn't have rolled the dough into a rectangle & then rolled it (like a jelly roll) into a "loaf", making a seam...to put "seamside" down. BUT I just assumed that rolling was the way to go & the bread turned out great. I don't have a bread machine, so I made it using my kitchen aid w/ the dough hook. I also took it out of the oven after 15 minutes & brushed it again with egg white & that also gave it a very nice crust. I liked the addition of brown sugar in this recipe compared to my normal recipe. Thanks for the tip Verla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States