Italian Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very easy to make and my family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
this is a really good bread. I didn't used the bread machine. So after I did the dough I let it stand for an hour and than I formed the loaf and let it rest for an other 45-60 mins. And it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
It's a 5 with just two changes. Don't separate the dough and do bake it in a loaf pan. It makes it much easier to get even slices for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe did not make 2 loaves for me, but that's probably to do with it being too cold here for the bread to rise properly. I made this bread manually. It does produce a very soft dough that likely wants more flour to make it work properly, but in order to avoid that what I did instead was melt a tablespoon of butter, let it cool a bit, and pour it over the dough before kneading and shaping. It won't stick to anything after that! Tastes good too. The recipe does produce a tender loaf of bread, very pretty, but it probably wasn't the best. I think if I made this again I'd add another teaspoon of yeast--I think I was missing the smell and flavor of yeast as it wasn't dominating my senses during the baking OR the eating time! (P.S. If you use the butter method to keep your bread from being sticky, omit the egg wash and just add your seeds to the buttery wet dough when you form it up for the 2nd rise. You can also use a plain milk wash instead of an egg wash anytime a recipe calls for an egg wash. It doesn't look identical, but it looks so close no one will complain!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Pretty good - easy to throw together and have ready for dinner. Next time, I'll make one big loaf instead of dividing into 2. The smaller loaves went well with our dinner, but I would like a bigger loaf for sandwiches,etc. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Finally made this bread and it turned out great! Made in the bread machine and made 2 small loaves. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This bread was good! I made it with a bread machine and it was just as easy! I didn't use the sesame seeds but it didn't seem to need it. I also only made one loaf not two. It was big and after putting it on the pan it spread out, which made it pretty flat and wide, but still tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is a very easy-to-make recipe, and the bread tastes wonderful! I made a double batch, and used half of it to make Pepperoni Bread from this site. The other half of the dough I formed into the two loaves and baked as the recipe states. I did make a mistake, however. I put the eggs into the dough instead of brushing them on top. To make up for this, I added less water. The bread turned out beautifully, and still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very easy bread, and nice and crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. I used my breadmaker to mix the dough, and it was pretty sticky, so probably does need a bit more flour. I didn't worry about it too much, though, as I made it last night and wanted to bake it today. So i put it in an oiled boil and put in the fridge overnight. Bc it was oiled it wasn't that hard to work with. Next time I'd add a bit more flour, though. Baked up beautifully within 30 minutes. I didn't add the sesame seeds though; they aren't my favorite. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States