Italian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
This is delicious, especially with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
My family loved it. Baked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made a double batch, and it took a lot longer for each loaf to cook than 65 minutes. Then I figured it was still a little gooey inside because it's so coarse? So I had to take them out or they would have burned. I will probably slice them up and toast the slices when I want to eat them. This is a nice heavy bread, just what I wanted! People, read the description! There's no yeast, so of course it's going to be heavy! Anyway, the taste! It's got a lot of flavor--if only I had green onions to add! Oops, I forgot I added Sage and Thyme as well as the other two herbs. It really does go very well with pasta (obviously!). I thought the inside was good, BUT WOW THE CRUST...mine's really thick and crunchy because I baked the loaves for so long, and MAN that is the best part. Now I'm really looking forward to toasted slices of this delicious bread... Last thing: I used 4 1/4 cups all purpose flour and 3/4 cups soya flour to add some protein for a good, hearty bread that I could munch on for lunch (and remember I doubled the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
very easy to make and very tasty. Big hit with my potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
For a beginer at breads this is easy and fast. I made my own sun-dried tomatoes which added a better flavoring than store bought ones. You have to try this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very filling, heavy bread. Wonderful taste and easy to make. Goes great with spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I thought this was a wonderful bread recipe! I chose it because it required no yeast, and I had none! I didn't use all of the ingredients listed, I pick and chose ones I knew my husband wouldn't complain about. I'm going to use this recipe as a regular bread base recipe by taking out all of the seasonings and adding my own different things based on what I'm making. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Great recipe! I had no yeast on hand and this HIT the spot. Very moist, even the next day (didn't last any longer, and there's only two of us!) I used mozzarella instead of cheddar and sauteed the garlic with some finely chopped onions before adding it into the bread - then sprinkled on more garlic, cheese, and onions on top. Will make again - my husband thinks he likes it better than yeast bread, but I'm not sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This bread was very very good! I rated 4 because I made a few changes. I added thyme and sage like another reviewer suggested. I put about 1 tsp of each. I also put in more cheese than it called for because my family loves cheese. Mine turned out perfect with 60 minutes to cook. Very good recipe thank you! Even a hit with the 9 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was good! I liked the fact that I was able to just throw it together, without yeast, and stick it in the oven right away. Will make again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States