Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
These were so easy and yummy. They remind me of French bread. Don't place too many on each baking sheet or they will grow together! (Finished size is about 5" wide.) A serrated grapefruit spoon worked great to scoop them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This recipe rocks! It was awesome with a thick split pea soup- really makes soup special- not a lot of work for the raves, but does require advanced planning. A TIP: For the second raise period, split up into individual bowls on a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper. DO NOT reknead the bowls- avoid handling them directly before baking so they will stay raised. Delish! Thanks Kerri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
At first I thought the bowls were going to be too small. When I put the soup in and got done eating, wow! I love anything in a bread bowl from cilli to alfredo to potato soup. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I loved this bread! I also had a problem with height though. I think I will take another users advice and wrap them in tin foil next time. But the bread itself was good. I served it with Chicken and Corn Chili also from this site-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
These were AWESOME with Potato Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
FANTASTIC!!! Easy to make came out perfect the first time! Filled them with the "Best Hot Crab Dip" and served as the best appetizer I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
My family loved this recipe. My husband and I had a house fire in July and we live with my in-laws. There are 10 people in our house and everyone of them loved the bread bowls and begged me to make more. Thank you for your yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was fantastic with the Old Fashioned potato soup. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
All I can say is... WOW!! I was looking for a nice bread bowl recipe for the simple fact that I love bread bowls with dip. I found this recipe and tried it one night... my friends and I just sat around eating until they were almost all gone! I actually made 4 larger bowls instead because I like them bigger, and it worked out great. I made these the day after I first made them, too. It's delicious with the "Best Spinach Dip Ever" recipe here. I'm picky about the bread that I eat, and this bread was perfect... I plan on making this recipe again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This recipe was a big hit at a family gathering we had. I made the recipe three times to make sure that we had enough, every time it worked like a charm. It was delicious and very festive. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States