Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Chrissy
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Excellent! Easy recipe to follow and everyone loves them. I bumped up the servings to 12 and it made 8 good sized bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! I made the standard 8 bowls (they each hold a serving but the bowls are sturdy enough that we just ate the top and middle with the first fill and then refilled the bowl with more soup :) We used four of the bowls and I individually wrapped and froze the other four. We've been thawing those out and slicing up for bread with dinner, which makes enough for the four of us with each "bowl". I also added Italian Seasoning and onion flakes to the dough before baking and they go perfectly with savory dishes. Will definately be putting this at the top of the recipe pile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I halved the recipe and used a whole egg to glaze the bread. Form the loaves into balls for the second rise. Bake ten minutes, do the first glaze, bake another ten minutes, do the second glaze, then bake the last ten minutes. Glazing before baking causes your bread to collapse. This recipe was quite good, if you dunk all the bread in soup. I had it with a delicious broccoli-cheddar soup. I was able to scrape the bowls into pretty thin shells without any leaking. But still serve these on some sort of plate, just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Didn't have a great taste and although they were round before the 2nd rise, they fell a bit flat. still workable, but not sure how great these are as bread bowls for soup. Maybe the salad would have stayed in. I usually buy bread bowls from the bakery for french onion soup, add soup, melt cheese over the opening...yummy. With these I added soup, then more soup, then noticed that before I could even add the cheese the soup was pouring out of the bread at a good drip. A bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My bowls turned out very hard and dense. They held the soup, looked nice, but weren't great to eat. User error? Maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Man oh man these are great! I ate one with butter hot out of the oven. If your having soup and salad, dividing these into 8 pieces works. If your just going to eat soup, I'd suggest dividing it into just 6. Very very tasty, crunchy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Easy to make and great with the creamy soups. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cpeyree
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe and everyone loved it also. But I will have too make 2 batches next time because even after I formed it into 6 balls they were still too small. Other than that It was a great recipe and I will use this all year round all the time!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpeyree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe, but I would make 6 servings instead of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The bread itself is a nice simple bread and turned out well, though flatter than I would have preferred (but that is not necessarily the recipe's fault). However, as a bread bowl, this bread is awful. It absorbed so much of the liquid from the soup that it started turning to mush. The crunchy crust on the outside was the only thing that didn't turn to goop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States