Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made these so I could serve "Erins Cheese Broccoli Soup" (on this site) in them.My family loved the bread bowls, I did sprinkle with granulated garlic and dried italian seasoning after I did the first eggwash. Personally I thought that the insideof "bowl" was just a little bit bland, but overall it did the job. I will make these agiain to serve soup/chili in. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made a double batch of this following the directions exactly. As I read through the reviews, I think I know why those that struggled with it falling flat was. Yes mine also fell somewhat flat. The ones that fell flat were no longer warm. They had gotten cold and fell. The others that I had closer to the stove and heat stayed puffed up. So I will make these again but make sure the area is warmer when making them. I did use the oven as one reviewer stated with a pan of hot boiling water on one side of the oven and the other side with the dough, it rose very well that way. Other than that this is a fantastic recipe and will be made more times in the future. I look forward to making a pasta bowl out of it. Oh, and for the second rising in 8 rounds, make sure it is in a warm place as that really helped it to rise well the first time and the second time. I just got to find a place to put it while it waits for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cricket878

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Photo by gregrickaby
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Using my Kitchen Aid, these were surprisingly easy to make. Turned out great with some homemade chili! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregrickaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I used olive oil and a pinch more salt. It adds more flavor. This was excellent, very easy dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Oliphant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family loves this bread bowl with broccoli cheese soup. I do add a little bit of seasoning to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leighsheila
Home Town: Jamestown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Loved it!!!! Made homemade chilly with it and it turned out GRRRREAT!!!!... The only thing I changed was I added a tablespoon of sugar to proof the yeast, and I did not have the cornmeal, so I did not use it. With these two changes it was still really gooood!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORIETTA M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
First time making bread, and it was a two-thumbs up success! My kids loved it! They had one cracked open eating it before the soup was done. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
These came out awesome! Followed recipe exactly except I used olive oil instead of veg oil. I skipped the egg wash and just brushed with olive oil and sprinkled Italian seasoning over it. I made 4 bread bowls out of the dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I should've listened to the other comments that said to make 6 instead of eight... they were tasty but very small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States