Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I used white wheat and some gluten instead of all purpose flour. And after reading other reviews I added a teaspoon of adobo and 1 tablespoon of sugar. But the amounts of the rest and times were spot on. I did mix it all in my kitchenaid and didn't knead it by hand at all. I think 8 is the perfect number so they aren't too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I am not an expert bread baker. Living at 7,000 feet often adds to my less-than-perfect results. However, this recipe turned out fabulously! I followed the advice of others and made the dough into 6 generous bowls, and added Italian herbs and garlic powder, as well as waiting to bruch with the egg wash until after the first 15 minutes of baking. i intend to use this a lot -- and not just for bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking College girl
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
YUM! I used 2 cups of wheat flour and 5 of white flour, added 2 tsp of sugar and about 2 tbls rosemary to this recipe....Delicious! Followed the directions and now I have perfect bread bowls for my chili tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I generally cut this recipe in half and make 3 bread bowls instead of 4. This creates bread bowls of a more suitable size for our tastes. I prepare the dough in the bread machine (using olive oil in place of other oils), utilizing the 1.5 hour "dough" cycle. I then form the bread bowls and let them rise on the stove top (with the oven on) for about an hour. The dough itself as it stands is a bit bland for my taste... I generally add a handful of fresh rosemary and a tablespoon or so of garlic powder. Instead of an egg wash, I use a butter "wash", which complements the rosemary and garlic nicely. These also require a longer baking time than mentioned in the recipe to crisp the outside of the bowl (25 - 30 minutes). I just play it by ear (or eye) and watch for the bowls to begin to brown. With those changes, this is my "go-to" bread bowl recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made these for dinner tonight along with some creamy potato soup. They were delicious. will be making these again! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I I'd it and put a Mexican chicken and corn chowder recipe I also got off the website! Perfect! Not a scrap left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I really liked these. I only had white wheat flour, so I think that may have affected my overall bread. It was a little dry, and I think I will use quite a bit more salt next time. I made brocolli cheese soup to fill these with! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Emeline Taylor Rye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
So easy using the bread machine to make the dough. I halved the recipe so it would fit in the machine. I proofed the yeast with 1 TBS of sugar first and then added the rest of the ingredients, along with 1 tsp of garlic powder and some dried basil. I did not have cornmeal, so I sprinkled some seasoned salt and onion powder on top. I skipped the first egg wash as it will only make the bread flop by touching it. It is best to just leave them alone. I don´t know why other reviews stated that making 8 bowls made them very small. I thought they were perfectly sized and would not make them any larger. I have made several batches and they look great. Hold soup well and I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Bread can be tricky to make but if you follow the instuctions you shouldn't have any problems. This recipe was very helpful and it turned out great. I followed another reviewers tip and let the bread rise in the oven with a pot of boiling water, that worked like a charm. If you have a kitchenaid stand mixer this recipe is a breeze. The bread turned out great and made perfect bowls! I will definitley be using this as my go to bread bowl recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My daughter fell in love with soup in a bread bowl and now we don't have to go to a restaurant to get it. Bowls were great but I did let them rise for more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States