Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I am a complete novice when it comes to bread, this was such an easy recipe I too made 6 bowls rather than 8 simply because i was cooking for 6. My husband and kids raved about them even the fussy one who refuses to eat the crust off bread ate the whole bowl......:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These turned out gorgeous and everybody raving. I added a little garlic powder and oregano to mine and only made 6. Very dense inside, delicious straight out of the oven and the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I made six bowls as many others suggested, which made a very nice serving size for a main dinner portion. I added a bit of sugar to the yeast for proffing and a few Italian seasonings to the flour mix. The family found them to be quite wonderful. A bowl shape was difficult to obtain I believe I needed to add more flour. Definately a recipe I will be doing againg and tweaking along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sflash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
A little flat which might have been my fault. In the end they still worked great for my super chunky beef stew. The flavor was alright and sort of bland but i didn't experiment with adding extra spices since it was my first time. They were a lot of work but I think I will make them again because they really brought some excitement to our normal dinner routine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruit-pie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Just made these,they made 6 HUGE, absolutely delicious bowls. I was in a pinch and only let them rise for about 20 mins each time you're supposed to let them which was my bad so they were a little less than perfect because they weren't as deep as they certainly would've been had i waited the correct time instructed. All i added was after i brushed with the egg was the first time,i sprinkled with some garlic salt. Then after scooping out the middle and before adding my stew,i sprinkled parm cheese in the bottom. My whole family loved these and after the stew sauce seeped into the bread it was just as tasty as it was fun to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Just started making bread again. Flour water ratio good. I did add sugar as all the recipes I made in the past always used a bit. More kneading time required to get nice firm spring back dough...but you'll need to add bits of flour in if you knead it longer. More rising time needed on first round. Second round was just about right. I have never put egg wash on my bread. Something went wrong. The loaves started to shrink..perhaps the water in the egg was supposed to be hot? Will try again as the process was simple compared to a 3 round rise recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
For the effort it took to make them, the flavor was just alright, even though I added a few Italian seasonings into the dough. Outside shell was too crunchy, but held its shape pretty well. Overall satisfied, they made a nice change to our dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Do not use the towel it stuck to the dough and my bread turned out flat. But other then that the bread is yummy I deffently will cover with something else next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent recipe. I always end up using less flour than the recipe calls for and double the salt. Blending the flour into the yeast mix before adding the salt will make sure that you don't kill the yeast. Other than that, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I scaled by half then divided that into 3 rather than 4. Baked in tortilla shell pans for a little shape. Brushed with garlic butter instead of egg wash. First try I added some rosemary, second time I added Parisien Bonnes Herbes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States