Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I love these. I have made them several times. I have read reviews about them not rising. I had this problem once and I know why. I uses my kitchenaid for the entire process. You can't do that. You can use it to mix it all together, but then you actually need to turn it out on a floured surface and knead the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
These came out tasting really great, but I think I messed up and should have re-shaped them into balls after the last rise. They just came out too flat for bread bowls. :( We still tried, but it wasn't as practical as it would've been if they were deeper. Next time that's the only change I would make, otherwise they're great. Also, for the rises I covered the dough with a damp towel and put in the oven with the light on. Worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fatimah
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe and it's delicious. I added sugar as one reviewer suggested and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Love this recipe. Yes time consuming, but it is rising bread and that's part the fun. I made these for St Patricks and spooned in Irish stew. It was great! And a fun change for my family. On a side note...having the bread turn out nearly perfect the first time (and the first time I ever made bread) gave me a little boost in confidence as a baker and mom...brought back some memories if my own mom baking when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Awesome recipe! This was my first time making bread but they came out great. Kids loved em, hubby loved them....home run recipe;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fisty McDougal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
came out fine but needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made these to serve with chicken stew. They were pretty good but quite a lot of work - I'm not sure I'd make them again for this purpose. I made 6 bowls but probably should have made 8 - I found them very large and filling. I added 1.5 tsp garlic powder and 1.5 tsp thyme, and used 3 c ww flour and 4 c flour. I cooked for 30 mins at 400 - maybe should have cooked longer? Tips: Use egg wash over as much of bread as possible (not just tops) to firm up crust. Take off baking pan ASAP onto cooling rack. Internal temp should be at least 200F. Overcooking is probably better than undercooking for this purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty plain but good with soup. I had trouble making them into roundish bowls ... mine were more flat saucers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made the recipe the first time as is except for making 1/2 a recipe since I'm the only that eats soup in my house. The first time the outside wasn't quite as crisp as I wanted so while the oven was cooling I left the rolls in. Really enjoyed these perfect little bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious!! Turned out perfect. I read the other reviews and skipped the first egg wash. I also made larger bowls by splitting the dough into thirds. Perfect with my homemade clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States