Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Didn't have a great taste and although they were round before the 2nd rise, they fell a bit flat. still workable, but not sure how great these are as bread bowls for soup. Maybe the salad would have stayed in. I usually buy bread bowls from the bakery for french onion soup, add soup, melt cheese over the opening...yummy. With these I added soup, then more soup, then noticed that before I could even add the cheese the soup was pouring out of the bread at a good drip. A bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My bowls turned out very hard and dense. They held the soup, looked nice, but weren't great to eat. User error? Maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Man oh man these are great! I ate one with butter hot out of the oven. If your having soup and salad, dividing these into 8 pieces works. If your just going to eat soup, I'd suggest dividing it into just 6. Very very tasty, crunchy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Easy to make and great with the creamy soups. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Wilfong Plunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cpeyree
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe and everyone loved it also. But I will have too make 2 batches next time because even after I formed it into 6 balls they were still too small. Other than that It was a great recipe and I will use this all year round all the time!! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpeyree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe, but I would make 6 servings instead of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
The bread itself is a nice simple bread and turned out well, though flatter than I would have preferred (but that is not necessarily the recipe's fault). However, as a bread bowl, this bread is awful. It absorbed so much of the liquid from the soup that it started turning to mush. The crunchy crust on the outside was the only thing that didn't turn to goop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These bread bowls looked so appetizing, making a simple creamed soup look very appealing. The texture of the bread was perfect, holding up wonderfully to the soup. This is a great way to make a simple soup look exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I only made a few MINOR changes....I split the recipe in half since it's just my husband and me. I also added a tsp of garlic powder to the dough and then topped the bread bowls with some butter and minced garlic instead of the egg white. We really enjoyed eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I could not have been happier with these bread bowls! I do agree that the size would be a little nicer if I would've made 4-6 instead of the 8. I will definetly use this recipe again! I think my next go will be for Christmas with cheesey broccoli soup and baked potatoe soup. This was my 1st attemp ever and I was VERY happy! Thank you for the excellent recipe and the AWESOME instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States