Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made these for dinner tonight along with some creamy potato soup. They were delicious. will be making these again! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I I'd it and put a Mexican chicken and corn chowder recipe I also got off the website! Perfect! Not a scrap left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I really liked these. I only had white wheat flour, so I think that may have affected my overall bread. It was a little dry, and I think I will use quite a bit more salt next time. I made brocolli cheese soup to fill these with! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Emeline Taylor Rye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
So easy using the bread machine to make the dough. I halved the recipe so it would fit in the machine. I proofed the yeast with 1 TBS of sugar first and then added the rest of the ingredients, along with 1 tsp of garlic powder and some dried basil. I did not have cornmeal, so I sprinkled some seasoned salt and onion powder on top. I skipped the first egg wash as it will only make the bread flop by touching it. It is best to just leave them alone. I don´t know why other reviews stated that making 8 bowls made them very small. I thought they were perfectly sized and would not make them any larger. I have made several batches and they look great. Hold soup well and I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Bread can be tricky to make but if you follow the instuctions you shouldn't have any problems. This recipe was very helpful and it turned out great. I followed another reviewers tip and let the bread rise in the oven with a pot of boiling water, that worked like a charm. If you have a kitchenaid stand mixer this recipe is a breeze. The bread turned out great and made perfect bowls! I will definitley be using this as my go to bread bowl recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My daughter fell in love with soup in a bread bowl and now we don't have to go to a restaurant to get it. Bowls were great but I did let them rise for more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
My bowls completely flattened out. Next time I will omit the first egg wash since this seemed to deflate them a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Sub 2 tbs for 4 tbs butter for taste. Bread flour will give you a better, fluffier bread. I never use electric mixers to kneed bread, you get better results by hand. Also when dissolving yeast in warm water make sure it dosent get hotter than 110 as it will kill the yeast, sprinkle with a pinch of sugar, the yeast likes sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
So good with some broccoli cheddar soup! This is an easy recipie to make... not as good as the restaurant ones in the US, but definatly a nice easy way to spice up a borring soup dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I absolutely love this basic recipe & use it all the time! I have made a few changes: I cut the salt to 1 1/2 tsp, add 1 TBS of sugar and every now and then with a pasta dinner I will toss in 1/8Cup parsley flakes & replace the salt with garlic salt, adding 1/2 tsp of Garlic powder & about 3 shakes of grated parm. This recipe makes fantastic, restaurant style mini-table loaves, bread bowls & all sorts of dinner rolls. Fantastic recipe! I use my bread machines dough setting - adding all liquid, then all dry, then the yeast & I simply shape and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States