Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I am not an expert bread baker. Living at 7,000 feet often adds to my less-than-perfect results. However, this recipe turned out fabulously! I followed the advice of others and made the dough into 6 generous bowls, and added Italian herbs and garlic powder, as well as waiting to bruch with the egg wash until after the first 15 minutes of baking. i intend to use this a lot -- and not just for bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking College girl
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
YUM! I used 2 cups of wheat flour and 5 of white flour, added 2 tsp of sugar and about 2 tbls rosemary to this recipe....Delicious! Followed the directions and now I have perfect bread bowls for my chili tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I generally cut this recipe in half and make 3 bread bowls instead of 4. This creates bread bowls of a more suitable size for our tastes. I prepare the dough in the bread machine (using olive oil in place of other oils), utilizing the 1.5 hour "dough" cycle. I then form the bread bowls and let them rise on the stove top (with the oven on) for about an hour. The dough itself as it stands is a bit bland for my taste... I generally add a handful of fresh rosemary and a tablespoon or so of garlic powder. Instead of an egg wash, I use a butter "wash", which complements the rosemary and garlic nicely. These also require a longer baking time than mentioned in the recipe to crisp the outside of the bowl (25 - 30 minutes). I just play it by ear (or eye) and watch for the bowls to begin to brown. With those changes, this is my "go-to" bread bowl recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made these for dinner tonight along with some creamy potato soup. They were delicious. will be making these again! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I I'd it and put a Mexican chicken and corn chowder recipe I also got off the website! Perfect! Not a scrap left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I really liked these. I only had white wheat flour, so I think that may have affected my overall bread. It was a little dry, and I think I will use quite a bit more salt next time. I made brocolli cheese soup to fill these with! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Emeline Taylor Rye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
So easy using the bread machine to make the dough. I halved the recipe so it would fit in the machine. I proofed the yeast with 1 TBS of sugar first and then added the rest of the ingredients, along with 1 tsp of garlic powder and some dried basil. I did not have cornmeal, so I sprinkled some seasoned salt and onion powder on top. I skipped the first egg wash as it will only make the bread flop by touching it. It is best to just leave them alone. I don´t know why other reviews stated that making 8 bowls made them very small. I thought they were perfectly sized and would not make them any larger. I have made several batches and they look great. Hold soup well and I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Bread can be tricky to make but if you follow the instuctions you shouldn't have any problems. This recipe was very helpful and it turned out great. I followed another reviewers tip and let the bread rise in the oven with a pot of boiling water, that worked like a charm. If you have a kitchenaid stand mixer this recipe is a breeze. The bread turned out great and made perfect bowls! I will definitley be using this as my go to bread bowl recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
My daughter fell in love with soup in a bread bowl and now we don't have to go to a restaurant to get it. Bowls were great but I did let them rise for more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
My bowls completely flattened out. Next time I will omit the first egg wash since this seemed to deflate them a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Italian Chickpea Bread

Italian-inspired, gluten-free bread made with chickpea flour.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States