Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I've made these many times and they are simply DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Doyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
People who complained about these not getting big enough might look to the instructions. Basic bread making gives 1 hour to do the first rise and 1 hour for the second rise. The rising times are too short in this recipe but respect basic bread rising times and you should be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
So great! I followed other's wisdom and used garlic salt and oregano when brushing the bread. SO good! I do wish I'd stuck with the 8 bowls, putting it to 6 made them too big for us. But other than that, I will definitely be repeating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
These were very good! I made six bowls so that they were a little bigger. I found that it worked better to make the dough into balls, instead of trying to make a "bowl" shape with a flat bottom. I actually made two batches, and the "ball" shape turned out better. As they rise, and then bake, they tend to flatten out a bit anyway. If you make them too flat before rising, you get flat bread not really suitable for a bowl (but good for eating anyway). The taste of these was very good combined with the soup (I made broccoli cheese soup to go with it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
These tasted fabulous! I made a creamy chicken soup to go in them, and the bread bowls made the meal! Mine came out too flat, my husband called them bread plates, but it still worked. I need to figure out how to make them stay round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very easy recipe, even for people without a logic experience making bread. I agree with the reviewer who said that this only makes 6 bowls - if I had made 8, they would have been tiny. I mixed garlic powder with the egg wash. Otherwise, they would have been very bland, even filled with soup. I made minestrone soup to go in the bowls, and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was my first time making bread by hand and I absolutely loved it. It was fantastic! It's super easy and the instructions are fabulous. I fully recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candie
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Very nice! I only got 6 bowls out of mine, all about palm sized, so I'm not sure if I messed up somewhere or not. I dissolved my yeast with about 2tsp of sugar in the water and added dried garlic and oregano to the dough as I was kneading it. Since I stuffed them with spaghetti (Yes, I know, unhealthy, putting carbs inside of carbs but it's a treat if only done occasionally) I brushed the outside with some garlic Parmesan butter after they came out of the oven. Very nice and customizable recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These bowls turned out perfect! My DH baked them and served them with chili at a guys football get-together. He saved me one and I filled it with smoked salmon chowder. Delicious! The top was lightly crispy and the inside was soft and yummy. We'll make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These did not turn out for me. I wonder about no sugar or honey with the water and yeast. I'm not sure as I bake homemade bread all the time without issue. I used new bread flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States