Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
There has to be something wrong in the listing of the measurements or the ingredients. There is no way you can make bread with only a tablespoon of water. The first water measurement must be wrong. I just spent 30 minutes trying to make this recipe work by adding water and I'm still pretty sure it's a flop and I've wasted time and money. So frustrating! How did everyone else get theirs to turn out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
No substitutions. Good, but not perfect! The texture is just right - soft on the inside, crisp on the outside. The flavor on its own is nothing to brag about, but you're filling it with your favorite soup, so it's not that obvious in the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This turned out well! I used 2 Tbls. of sugar and instead of vegetable oil I used Tuscan seasoned olive oil. I also add wheat germ, ground flax seed, and chia seeds. It was delicious with broccoli cheese soup on a snow day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I feel inadequate rating this recipe since this was my first attempt at making bread bowls. The dough reacted well in the rising stages though, I believe I put too much flour in it and ended up with some weird shaped bowls. The final product tasted a lot like biscuit and I don't think the soup I used was very complementary to the bread. If I can get over my embarrassment at the failure, I will probably try to make these again, the right way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I cut this recipe in half and made 3 bowls. They were a good size, although I think I could have easily made 4, per the recipe. This was my first time making bread bowls and I had a bit of trouble with them flattening. The flavor was okay, but if I make them again I think I will try adding a bit of seasoning to kick them up a notch. thanks for sharing this recipe, Kerri Skrudland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was really easy and SO good. I made it to go with homemade chili. It was the perfect accompaniment. I made the recipe "as is". In the future I plan to try making 10 portions instead of 8, as the bowls were slightly larger than my preferred average portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deefuntimes
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
My son & I really enjoyed the end product! These were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heidird
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious!!! Made just as recipe says, used bread machine and it was a bit much so I had to stir a few times and then cover with a damp towel when it rose higher than lid. 8 was great. Used for pepperoni pizza soup and then sliced a couple extra to have along side dinner the next couple of nights. Great flavor Can't say enough about how much I loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This will be the second time I have used this recipe, I am not knocking any stars because of my ability to cook (I'm a great cook) or because I divided the dough into a smaller amount than recommended. I am giving it all stars because it totally deserved it! GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Wolven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I make bread a lot and was very disappointed in this. For one, I should have listen to other reviewers and made 4 bowls and not 8. As is, this recipe makes for very tiny bowls that are fairly flat and not suited for soup. The bread was also very bland. Spices are definitely needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States