Italian Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fatimah
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe and it's delicious. I added sugar as one reviewer suggested and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Love this recipe. Yes time consuming, but it is rising bread and that's part the fun. I made these for St Patricks and spooned in Irish stew. It was great! And a fun change for my family. On a side note...having the bread turn out nearly perfect the first time (and the first time I ever made bread) gave me a little boost in confidence as a baker and mom...brought back some memories if my own mom baking when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Awesome recipe! This was my first time making bread but they came out great. Kids loved em, hubby loved them....home run recipe;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
came out fine but needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Made these to serve with chicken stew. They were pretty good but quite a lot of work - I'm not sure I'd make them again for this purpose. I made 6 bowls but probably should have made 8 - I found them very large and filling. I added 1.5 tsp garlic powder and 1.5 tsp thyme, and used 3 c ww flour and 4 c flour. I cooked for 30 mins at 400 - maybe should have cooked longer? Tips: Use egg wash over as much of bread as possible (not just tops) to firm up crust. Take off baking pan ASAP onto cooling rack. Internal temp should be at least 200F. Overcooking is probably better than undercooking for this purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty plain but good with soup. I had trouble making them into roundish bowls ... mine were more flat saucers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made the recipe the first time as is except for making 1/2 a recipe since I'm the only that eats soup in my house. The first time the outside wasn't quite as crisp as I wanted so while the oven was cooling I left the rolls in. Really enjoyed these perfect little bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Delicious!! Turned out perfect. I read the other reviews and skipped the first egg wash. I also made larger bowls by splitting the dough into thirds. Perfect with my homemade clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Unbelievably delicious, and exactly better than any paneria. My family and guests raved. I agree with the tablespoon sugar into the yeast mix and also make 7 bowls, not eight. I'm not sure all the cornmeal didn't just drip off with egg-white. Why not stir in the cornmeal into the egg-white mixture?? Baking it to a crusty brown is the way to go and serve with soup while they are still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T, but they flattened when I baked them in the oven. They were hard on the outside and still doughy inside. The egg wash made them brown too quickly and they looked nothing like the picture. I was really disappointed. I guess I'll keep looking for that perfect bread bowl recipe. D:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chococupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States