Italian Bread Baked on a Pizza Stone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Followed all steps- made by hand. First rise went ok, as did the second rise- but moving them off the off the parchment sheet did not go well. Dropped and stayed flat on the pizza stone. Baked the loaves- very dense. Probably operator error- will not try again. Will make croutons- it's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I used this recipe for baking in my wood fired oven. It was simple and easy to follow. WFO gave it a nice crust all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The dough is supposed to be sticky!!Adding more flour will just impede the rise you get.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholas David Jones

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This bread is yummy! I only used 1 cup of water with 3 cups bread flour and had no problem with sticky dough. Mixed in the stand mixer with the dough hook and let it knead the dough for 5 minutes. The egg wash added wonderful color and the crust is chewy just as it should be. I did let the bread rise on parchment paper after shaping and then put paper and all on the pizza stone to bake. We are adding this to our list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
After looking at a lot of the reviews and preparing the dough myself I had the same issue as many others, too liquid dough. The problem is the wording of the recipe, it looks like the egg is in the dough when it actually is for the final eggwash. So read this carefully and it will come out fine. It would have been helpful if the writer had seperated the wash ingredients by listing them as such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe, everyone took two or more pieces and asked for the recipe! You definitely need to use more corn meal than you think, just so the bread doesn't fall while transferring it to the stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Casperson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was delicious and beautiful....real "authentic" looking. The next time I make it I may add some seeds (flax, sesame, sunflower) and/or nuts. I like crunch. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Hampstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Bread Maachine - wet ingredients go in first, then add dry - I put yeast last - I use 2 T olive oil, 1 T honey - 3-3/4 c bread flour - 1-1/4 c warm water. After first rise (either in machine or by hand), follow the recipe. Non-stick foil is the answer to just about all baking needs - I put the shaped dough on it and put it either on the pizza paddle or a cookie sheet and transfer the dough and foil onto the stone - after a few minutes I just pull the foil out from under the dough. Since it is not at all soiled I just keep using it. I no longer spritz with water - just add 10 more minutes to baking time and the crust comes out perfect and the inside is fluffly and so very good. Try kneading in some olives sometimes - great. Hope this helps. I have not tried this recipe but sounds like mine so I will give it 4 stars - can't give 5 if I have not tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lola87
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I love this bread! I used whole wheat to make it more healthier! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This bread is baking as I write this review. So far, I'm thinking not a good recipe. I added 1/2 extra flour into the bread machine prior to starting cycle. It came out so sticky I had to need lots more flour into it to even handle the dough. It seemed to rise fine but when I uncovered it and slit it w/the knife, it deflated. I'll let you know once it's done baking how it came out. But I don't think it's going to be so good. I'm going to stick w/the Artisan Bread in 6 minutes a day (i think that's what it's called. No kneading and never failed me. UPDATE: It just came out of the oven. NO GOOD!!!. I'm going back to the Artisan recipe mentioned above
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States