Italian Bread Baked on a Pizza Stone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
It's a good thing that I need this bread for dinner tonight, because otherwise I would eat the whole loaf right out of the oven! The only thing I added was some Italian seasoning and garlic powder to the dough, then the last minute of baking, I brushed olive oil and Kosher salt on top. One other reviewer said it tastes like the Macaroni Grill bread...closest I've gotten, anyway. The dough was quite sticky coming out of the bread machine, so it was kind of a mess, but the loaves turned out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This bread reminded me of the bread at Macaroni Grill. I made 2 small round loaves and 2 calzones. Note: I didn't proof my yeast which had an expiration date of 09/08 and was stored in the fridge since December. I had to leave the dough in the bread machine for an additional 30-45 minutes after the end of the dough cycle as it hadn't risen enough. Once I gave it more time it was fine. Thanks Destiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was a great bread recipe, so easy! I let it rise on the pizza stone and baked it a few minutes longer and it worked perfectly. I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour because I ran out of regular...still great. Used the leftovers the next night for french toast, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Niezgocki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I thought this bread was great. I was looking for a bread to make on a snowy afternoon and this looked fine. I do not have a bread maker, but mixed one batch in my kitchenaid. The method I used: combine the flour, sugar, yeast and salt in the mixer. Then combine the oil and warm water and add slowly while mixer is running. After the dough comes together (I needed to add an additional 1/2 cup of flour), let the dough hook knead it for 7 minutes. I turned it out onto a board then but the texture was lovely and did not need more kneading. Preheated your oven to 200 then turn it off. Let the dough rise in an oiled bowl covered with plastic wrap in the oven for 40 minutes. The dough was a little sticky to handle but using the parchment paper eliminated most of the handling. I let it rise for the additional 40 minutes but in the future would let it rise longer - it wasn't that tall when done - but a lovely taste and texture. The crust was perfect. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Skrzypczak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I need help. I think this would have turned out great for me, except I don't have a bread machine. I put it in my mixer w/a dough hook and it was very runny. I added much more flour to try to get it in a dough ball but my results were tough flat bread. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolinagirl965
Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I tried this twice and love the flavor and crust. However when I went to place the loafs in the oven (both times) they fell from the beautiful nice rise they were just the minute before I moved them. Can anyone tell me why and how to prevent this next time. I don't dare cut slices on top after they raise either as it was like deflating a balloon when I tried to cut a slit on top. Otherwise delicious !!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deadwood, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Mine turned out not so appealing to the eyes. I am giving it a 5 star though because I know it is something I messed up. The bread was excellent. Will be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Secret Agent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
What an incredible flavor - almost identical to a recipe I tried last week but this one has a great flavor. The loaves came out soft. I have read that for that crispy crust water should be spritzed onto the crust three times during the first ten minutes of baking, but I couldn't find my water spray bottle so I didn't try it. Will next time, and this will be the recipe I use. Also, I don't have a baking stone yet so I used a preheated metal baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Anne Cutler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States