Italian Bread Baked on a Pizza Stone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow.. if I was going just by taste this would of been 5 stars.. but this was a horrible recipe to work with. I followed the recipe exactly and it was so sticky coming out of the bread machine that I needed my husband's help b/c it wouldn't come off my hands or let go of the bowl. I ended up kneaded it by hand and adding more flour to it and that helped but it was still alittle sticky but I didn't want to over flour it so I stopped. I guess by adding the extra flour and kneading it by hand it was all lumpy, I tried kneading it out but it still looked bumpy. I've made bread before so I know what I'm doing.. I just don't understand what went wrong with this recipe. But I decided to keep going and I put it on parchment paper and put a damp cloth over it to let it rise but 30 mins later it hadn't risen much and the damp cloth was sticking to the bread so I peeled off the cloth and sprinkled alittle flour on the top of the loaves to prevent sticking and put a dry cloth over them, than I stuck it in the oven at 175 and it finally started to rise but even than it didn't rise too much. The only thing that saved this bread was the taste. Oh and one tip... I made a mixture of 1/4 teas of each spice.. pepper, garlic powder and thyme and sprinkled that on the top of one of the loaves for flavor. That one tasted incredible! I will do that again but I'm sorry I won't be trying this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by k8norris
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I only gave this a 4 star because it needs some tweeking. The taste is a 5 star, getting the results is a 4 star. I didn't use the egg wash because I don't like the eggie taste that it creates. I spritzed with water 3 times during baking to produce a crispy crust. You don't need a bread machine to do this recipe. I added the water, yeast, oil, salt and sugar to a bowl and let it sit 10 min till frothy. Then I added 2 cups of the flour 1 cup at a time and stirred in between till well encorporated. I then transfered it to my kitchenaid with the dough hook attachment and mixed for 5 to 6 min on the 2nd setting, slowly adding the last cup of flour 1 - 2 tbsp at a time. Once done the dough will be stuck on the hook and not the sides of the bowl. If it's sticking to the bowl add a bit more flour (1 tbsp at a time) till its not sticking to the sides. Overall the mixing time should be 10 min. Transfer to an oiled bowl and let rest 1 hr or till doubled. Then follow the rest of the recipe. I also used parchment paper for the second rising so the bread is easily transfered to the stone without disturbing it. Like I said, awesome taste, you just have to tweek and be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
this recipe is essential and super easy! instead of a bread machine i simply mixed the dough with a wooden spoon and then kneeded it for about 8 minutes. then i let the dough rise as directed. instead of spraying the loaves with water as many people have said, i used the egg wash that was used before the bread was put in the oven. this had a better effect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was good but slightly lacked something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
With no doubt, this was absolute perfection. Several attempts to bake my own bread have created some very unique door stops and boat anchors. I am very happy to say that this was so good that one entire loaf was gone in 20 minutes just between me and my wife. Thank you so much for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
It is so good, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is really good italian bread. I mixed my dough in my Kitchen-Aid mixer with dough hook. I let it rise in the bowl and then punched down and form into loaves on my stone. Makes 2 nice size loaves, that are light and have lots of holes for cheese and sauce to fill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Wow was this good! We make this recipe all of the time now. The only changes I made were to rise the loaves on the pizza stone and I add some extra rise time. This is so good, the kids beg me to make it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Eh, it's not bad. But you need more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
It's a good thing that I need this bread for dinner tonight, because otherwise I would eat the whole loaf right out of the oven! The only thing I added was some Italian seasoning and garlic powder to the dough, then the last minute of baking, I brushed olive oil and Kosher salt on top. One other reviewer said it tastes like the Macaroni Grill bread...closest I've gotten, anyway. The dough was quite sticky coming out of the bread machine, so it was kind of a mess, but the loaves turned out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States