Italian Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
very easy recipe to follow. it was very sticky but worked with it using well floured hands. i used anise oil instead of the extract. i have never found extract to be tasteful in anything i've baked. it cooked great and i used chocolate hershey bars melted, dipping one end in the chocolate. very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was my first try at making biscotti and it turned out great. The recipe makes a ton of biscotti, but I froze some and took some to a friend's party where she was having a "Chocolate Fountain." These biscotti were great for dipping in the fountain and were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
My mom told me this recipe is very similar to my full Italian grandmother's biscotti recipe. They came out great. I brought them to an office breakfast and the whole tray was inhaled. I needed to toast the cookies longer than suggested in the recipe and I could've toasted them longer which I think I'll do next time. It does make a lot of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang'snewkitchn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have anise extract, so I used anise seeds instead. The anise taste wasn't strong enough for me using only the seeds, so I will add more next time. I took the advice of using dough hooks and keep my hands well floured and had no problem with the "stickiness" of the dough. I also took the advice of letting the biscotti cool a few minutes before cutting and using a bread knife and they cut beautifully. Will definitely be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is a very easy to follow recipe. My family is Italian, so we have been making biscotti is some form or another for a long time. I'm not really an anise fan, so I replaced that with almond essence and it worked a treat. As a hint, it's best to leave the loaves for about 5 minutes before slicing them so that they firm up a bit. Additionally, use a bread knife to cut them into pieces. It slices through much easier. We dipped a couple of them in Nutella at the end and also put strawberry jam on them!!! Soooo delicious. Still, I'm a fan of the traditional dipping in wine or coffee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Easy to make, easy to store, taste great! My friends alway get fascinated when they get this exotic treat. However, I always double the amount of anise extract. I find the original a little too plain, but with doubled anise, they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This is one of many biscotti recipes I have tried and the most requested by family and friends. I've found that no matter how much flour I add, the dough is just too sticky to knead and roll into logs. I just gave up and started spooning the dough in a log shape onto the cookie sheets instead. Messy, but effective. I also omit the anise extract and use almond in its place. This recipe makes a large amount and slices very nicely. Not too crumbly like others I have tried. I do have to bake them much longer than the recipe suggests the second time, but it's well worth it in the end. Have made this many, many times, and sure I will make it many more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I had to devote about 2 hours to making this recipe, but it was worth it! It makes a lot, too, which is great. I made them for an "Italian Night" dinner at my house, and they were very well-received. After they were cooled, I drizzled melted milk chocolate on them. Pretty and delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
YUM!!! Made 4 different flavors: the original recipe (with almond and vanilla extracts instead of anise), original with Grand Marnier and orange zest, original with dried cranberries and walnuts, and original with chocolate chips. I also melted a combination of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips and coated half of each cookie. Now all you need is a cup of hot coffee for dippin'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Everyone loves my biscotti! I added chocolate chunks and almond slivers and they are a hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States