Italian Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was dynamite! The first time I made them, I did a double batch & sent some to my friend in AZ. She loved them & she's a big holiday baker. Didn't have anise extract, but almond extract worked fine. Substituted Egg Beaters for some of the eggs to reduce cholesterol. My husband said it's his favorite biscotti from all the ones I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I have tried several biscotti recipes and this one is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! This was my first Biscotti recipe and it was easy as pie :) My slight mod's were I swapped Almond extract inplace of Anise because my husband hates liquourice flavor, added some crushed walnuts because I was low on almonds, and added near a cup extra of flour due to sticky dough. One thing I realized during the cooking process...the 2nd half of the dough was left to sit while the first batch baked. After that the dough was not sticky and became very managable. Perhaps letting the dough sit for a bit before making the logs (still with the extra flour however) would help with the sticky problem. I dipped some tips in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTA8402

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Really good recipe, didn't change a thing. Was a bit softer than I like my Biscotti, definately softer than my Nonna made-- but really tasty anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsJeanettic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tazewell, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
easy and great for gift giving at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
i have made biscotti according to this recipe several times now, and every time, people absolutely love it! they say it is the best food i've made yet. i have you to thank for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This biscotti was very tasty! I swapped the flour for a gluten free coconut baking mix, and while the biscotti was much more crumbly than it normally would be, it was still delicious. The recipe also made enough that I could share with my mom (who is begging me to make more).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Not bad at all, I think dipping them in chocolate would make them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I've been making this base recipe for the past three years, usually for Christmas. This is an excellent recipe and I thank the author profusely for posting it...I've received many compliments! Because I don't care for anise, I use two tsp of almond extract in addition to the two tsp vanilla and, for varied flavor and texture, I've used toasted, finely-chopped walnuts. I also coat the bottoms with semi-sweet chocolate. A few hints...if you find it difficult to work with the dough, simply place between two sheets of waxed paper to roll/shape your logs. You can then simply drop it on to your parchment paper-lined cookie sheet. Also, melting chocolate on a dinner plate makes it very easy to sweep the bottom of the cookie with chocolate...simply place on waxed paper-lined cookie sheets and cool. When attending holiday parties, placing six of these biscotti in a decorated goody bag tied with a red ribbon makes a wonderful hostess gift. Also great to give to teachers, neighbors, postal carrier, etc. I simply adore this recipe. This recipe is simple, but if you're not familiar with working with biscotti, be patient. They are SO worth it!!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
So pretty, with a fine texture and gentle flavoring. Like other reviewers, I lined the baking sheets with parchment and swapped 1/3 of the flour for whole wheat. My resulting dough was too soft to knead, so I simply floured my hands and 'shaped' the loaves instead. Following more advice; I let the loaves stand for 5 minutes before slicing (it firmed them up a bit) and stood the slices up for the second baking (avoiding the need to flip each cookie). This is an outstanding recipe - Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States