Italian Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I followed the recipe but added more almonds (toasted) about 1 cup of slivered and subsituted almond flavoring for the anise and added the anise seed (1 tbsp). Don't be discouraged because the dough is sticky, it will bake up nicely. These were not the rock hard type I've eaten before, thankfully, but when toasted are firm and dunkable. I increased the second baking to 10 minutes which was about 1 minute too long, but it was in a convection oven. My husband loves these and he is very picky when it comes to biscotti. Not too sweet. I'll be baking these alot! Just watch the second toasting time. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have tried many Biscotti recipes and none seemed to turn out as good as my late mother in laws. This recipe is actually easier and much better taste. Works great with pecans too. Raylene Italiano Ellwood City, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a surprisingly simple, classic recipe for italian biscotti that any novice could make, and any expert would be proud to produce. I like biscotti a little thicker than average so I cut them into one inch slices for the second baking. As I had two trays to cook, I also raised the heat to 400 degrees and toasted them for 15 minutes so they were medium brown and very crunchy. Warm with coffee, they were so good I baked a batch to send to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
used sliced almonds. Lori Manning loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Great recipe and so easy! I made some half dipped in chocolate. This recipe makes a lot so I halved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Just not right... I had to add more flour to be able to work with the dough. 25mins. was not long enough for the center to cook (maybe my oven?) so I ended up with too-hard outer layers and too-soft centers. They tasted more like sugar cookies than the biscotti my Grandmother used to make. I'll try other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I just made this recipe and loved it. My husband and family thinks it one of the best I have ever made. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
first time w/ biscotti and they came out great. They weren't as hard as I had hoped but I'm told that my Italian grandmother used to give then a brushing with an egg mixture while they were baking. I'm going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BISODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Frisco, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Yummy! Love these with coffee! They're pretty easy to make. I don't usually include almonds since I don't have them around. Make sure the cookies are pretty hard/dry. The softer the cookie, the less they'll absorb liquid (coffee, tea).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Excellent receipe! However, anise flavoring isn't for everyone so I replace it with 2-tsps of almond extract and 1-tsp of vanilla. When the Biscotti has cooled I dip one side in chocolate and place that chocolate side up on a tray with wax paper, then drizzle with white chocolate. Then they go into the fridge for about 10 minutes to harden. I do this with half the batch and leave half the batch plain. It's a big, big hit whenever I make it. I feel so lucky to have come across this recipe. So easy too! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States