Italian Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
So good! I made these for christmas gifts for my family. Everyone loved it! Nothing better than to dip in a nice cup of hot chocolate or yummy coffee!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Don't know what the problem was, but I had to add alot of extra flour because the dough was a sticky mess. Also, they never crisped up enough in the oven, even when I left them in way past the recommended cooking time. The flavor was excellent, but just too crumbly. I am hoping they will crisp up after a day or 2. Also, I used sliced almonds because that is what I am used to - I don't recommend that. Definitely stick with chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I halved the recipe and brought them to a dinner picnic. They were a huge hit! I used all vanilla extract since I didn't have almond - but I'm going to have to get some! The dough was really sticky. I made another half batch today and decorated them with melted chocolate chips. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Delicious and looks fabulous (looks professionally made) when drizzled with white chocolate. Decadent! Thanks for a great recipe! Followed the recipe as written (which was perfect), but can see how this would be very versatile, and I'll be trying it with new things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This recipe makes the BEST biscotti ever! I did substitute almond extract for the anise as some other reviewers suggested, and tried several variations such as half white and half brown sugar, added a couple drops of vanilla, added dried cranberries, added walnuts, added slivered almonds, tried dried bluberries, etc. A good basic recipe that you can play around with and make your own by what you add to it or the combinations you come up with. Also drizzled/dipped some pieces in chocolate and white chocolate. Excellent...thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I found this recipe this week and have already made them twice. This is by far one of the best biscotti recipes in my collection. After the first bake instead of laying them flat and baking a few minutes on both sides, I simply stand them up and just bake them again once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
great! didn't crumble and was raved about. simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Wasted 6 eggs, 6 cups of flour and 3 sticks of butter! Recipe doesn't say to use parchment paper or to grease the cookie sheets. They were in the oven for around 10 minutes and the bottoms were burnt, my oven was smoking. What a disaster! Something in the recipe can't be right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I had never made biscotti before and tried this recipe for my first attempt... it came out so well! I followed the directions and ingredient list exactly with the exception of adding about half a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Thanks to whoever suggested working with the dough with well-floured hands on a well-floured surface... that helped a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States