Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
When I come across this recipe As I flip through My Recipe Box, my mouth litteraly waters, EVERY time! Rump roasts can sometimes be a little tough and flavorless, but not so in this recipe! I made Au Jus and then placed the meat on hoagie rolls, with Pepper Jack cheese and sliced it diagonally for dipping. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
a bit much red pepper for some of the guests but I thought it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I lived in Chicago most of my life and this recipe is right on. For those who are adding cheese to their sandwich you are no longer having a Chicago beef but are instead having a Philly cheese steak. Chicago beef sandwiches do not have cheese on them - they are served with hot or sweet peppers and that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
amazing recipe. I too used beef Stock (from carton or home made..not can---too-salty) I posted another recipe to this So sorry, I thought it was my own tweek note to original recipe. i am new to this pro membership.I did add Basil ( 2t. dried) to the rub and pinch of garlic powder plus 2t. Worcestershire sauce to juice before roasting. This does work in a crock pot, but I like roasting first to give more flavor...then reheating in crock pot. As others have said before me ROAST THE BEEF RARE FIRST and then cooling in fridge is key to getting a nice thin slice. Be sure to chill COMPLETELY . This chef KNOWS what he is doing (SO did Lorraine Pierce so follow their cooking method(roasting) for the better results. Next time I might try adding dry red Italian wine ( maybe 1/2 cup or so) to the beef stock. Has anyone tried that way? Made this again ( still did not add wine yet, as it is too good to mess with much. HOWEVER both times it came out too salty. I was able to correct this. I caramelized 2 large onions in unsalted butter. Then added 1 qt of UNsalted beef STOCK from a carton (not broth)I brought this up to just under a boil, added about 8 or 9 fresh rosemary leaves,( stems removed)and simmered for 15 min. or so. THEN drained off the onions in a mesh strainer, (let drain 10 -15 min over a bowl)and added just the juice to the other juices. If your beef juice is not too salty, then skip this step. OR do it if you want to have extra juice for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is truly an amazing recipe for Chicago-style Italian beef!! The best for us. Very true to the Chicago flavor, of course!! This is the flavor of Italian beefs I've been searching for. The search is over. Pretty easy as well. Definitely use a meat slicer to slice very thin. Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This weekend we had a "SANDWICH WAR SHOWDOWN"!! Meet The competitors: Italian Beef Sandwiches vs. The Munroe Melt. Italian Beef Sandwich 3 stars The Munroe Melt 5 stars. Originally from Illinois, never tried this Chicago fan treat. Both hubby and I "it's good" but was bland and needed more spunk. Ended up adding melted muenster cheese, roasted green peppers and onions, plus chopped up Giardiniera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Goodness, this is a good recipe--super simple and oh, so easy. The ONLY thing I changed was the time I had to do it in. Unfortunately, I didn't notice that I needed to let the cooked roast chill overnight, so once it was finished roasting I put in the freezer for 3 hours. It seemed to work. The meat wasn't frozen, but it was well-chilled and easy to slice thin. FYI: for those who have sensitive tongues (like my Midwestern mother and mother-in-law), this recipe, as prepared, can be a tad spicy. I'm sure you could halve the amount of red pepper and it would still make tasty sandwiches. However, for the rest of us, it was spot-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just made this the other day. Wow! Loved the crushed pepper in it. Gave it a nice kick. I put a roast in crockpot with all spices added on top. Slow cooked for 6 hours. Put in fridge overnight with liquid. Took it out next day to remove excess fat. Sliced up beef very thin (a little messy) and put it back in dish and warmed up. Again, WOW! This will be the recipe of choice (and I have made many different versions of Italian Beef). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
love it , i used the slow cooker it was really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was not bad. This was more like a french dip sandwich. It needed a little basil and italian seasoning as well as the green bell pepper slices and giardiniera. Once I tweaked that, it really enhanced the final product to a more authentic recipe. For a french dip sandwich though, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States