Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Dick, fine job! There are Italian Beef's,then there are "Chicago style" Italian Beefs. Yours i would classify as Chicago style. I also use beef broth instead of water. In Chicago, from where i was raised & just returned from, the only topping you would get are either sweet peppers or Giardinera (hot). No mushrooms or any of that other stuff, but thats perfectly ok for each individual preferences. When it comes to Chicago style Italian Beef's, im just a purist as all. For the people who said rump is too tough, you first roast to no more than medium! That way when you slice the meat, I should say SHAVE, it does not crumble. That degree of doneness has nothing to do with tenderness. After cooling(important cause hot meat crumbles)inserting the shaved meat in the Au Jus the redness will dissapear. Do not waste the x-tra $$ on beef tenderloin. Rump or top round or sirloin tip will be just fine as well as eye of round, although eye of round is NOT the tenderloin! Dick, out of all the Beef joints in Chi-Town, Al's is probably tops, but then again it's all a personal preference. For all of the people out there "ad libb'ing" a Chicago style Italian Beef, they have to know what an original really is & how it's served! Sort of like in Philly at Gino's or Pat's. Cheese Whiz or American Cheese. Thanks for letting these folks in on a Chicago staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coach Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I'm from Chicago but have moved away. I love this recipe when I'm craving an Italian beef sandwich! Mine is slightly different though. I don't use water but a combination of beef broth and beer. I leave it in the slow cooker while I'm at work. When I get home it's perfect on a crusty italian roll with some mozzerella cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Thank you! You should rename this one the ONLY REAL Italian Beef Sandwich Recipe! We also moved away from the city of Chicago, and couldn't believe what they were passing off as "Beefs" in our new locale; shredded or loose meat with only a hint of seasoning, and carrots! AAAGH! I came up with this method too after trial and error.I also use flavoring in the water added to the roasting pan, usually a little Worcestshire and a teaspoon of ready-to-use beef bouillon. We use a whole beef tenderloin, mostly for ease of slicing, so that we have enough for a big party or extra for the freezer. My recipe calls for an herb/spice rub, with an eight cup each basil, oregano and parsley in dried form. A dash or two of dried diced onion, crushed red pepper as hot as you like, and salt and pepper to taste. Put on half of this before inserting the garlic and half after. An easy way of doing the garlic is to make shallow scorings lengthwise down the tenderloin and then pat in minced garlic from a jar. Sometimes we use a third to a half jar, depending on the size of the roast. Proceed as you do with Dick's recipe, but with a whole tenderloin (sometimes called eye of round) you might need longer for the larger size -- we usually leave it in the oven for 4 hours. The first time we used the recipe, we put it in a roaster for a 70-person grad party, and it was the most requested entree, around 12 pounds completely gone right down to the gravy. Hope the "tweaks" will help..Salute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This a great recipe! The sandwich is even better if you toss on a few hot giardano peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTIETEMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This makes an excellent sandwich.DO NOT change this recipe,its very good as is.I say this to you, because many cooks have a tendancy to change recipes to find the optimum.I have received many request for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I have been looking for a recipe for these for 10 years!!!! Thank you so much. My husband who has never been to Chicago now knows why I miss it so much, THEIR ITALIAN BEEF SANDWICHES! Thanks again, they are incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Thanks Dick!!!!!!! My hubby grew up in Chicago and I made these for him and he tells me every time that I make them (which is about once a week!) how happy he is that I found a recipe for ITALIAN BEEFS!!!! We live in Indianapolis so it's not to easy to just run up to Chicago to enjoy a treat like Italian Beefs! I love them, the kids love them and the hubby loves them! What little work goes into them is very well worth it! We serve them on crusty bread with banana peppers and provolone cheese! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is like having an instant ticket to the Italian neighborhoods of Philly. Do remember to add sauted onions and peppers to the au jus to pile on with the meat. Cheese of your choice is also a must. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe rocks. If you make this for your family you will automatically get bonus points towards mother (or father) of the year! SO delicious and really quite easy. The hardest part is finding the right sized pan. I'm going to use this for the holidays when I have a home full of family I am trying to feed quickly at lunch time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
When I started cooking this, my wife said, "I don't think I'm going to like that." When I sliced the meat, she said, "That just looks awful." When she tasted it, she said, "Oh, that's good." When we had the leftovers, she said, "Wow, you can fix this anytine you want to." Another All Recipes winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States