Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was good, but not the best that I have ever had. I thought that this recipe could have been enhanced by using beef broth instead of the water and also by placing onions and peppers on top. It is super easy to do this in a slow cooker. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Thank you! You should rename this one the ONLY REAL Italian Beef Sandwich Recipe! We also moved away from the city of Chicago, and couldn't believe what they were passing off as "Beefs" in our new locale; shredded or loose meat with only a hint of seasoning, and carrots! AAAGH! I came up with this method too after trial and error.I also use flavoring in the water added to the roasting pan, usually a little Worcestshire and a teaspoon of ready-to-use beef bouillon. We use a whole beef tenderloin, mostly for ease of slicing, so that we have enough for a big party or extra for the freezer. My recipe calls for an herb/spice rub, with an eight cup each basil, oregano and parsley in dried form. A dash or two of dried diced onion, crushed red pepper as hot as you like, and salt and pepper to taste. Put on half of this before inserting the garlic and half after. An easy way of doing the garlic is to make shallow scorings lengthwise down the tenderloin and then pat in minced garlic from a jar. Sometimes we use a third to a half jar, depending on the size of the roast. Proceed as you do with Dick's recipe, but with a whole tenderloin (sometimes called eye of round) you might need longer for the larger size -- we usually leave it in the oven for 4 hours. The first time we used the recipe, we put it in a roaster for a 70-person grad party, and it was the most requested entree, around 12 pounds completely gone right down to the gravy. Hope the "tweaks" will help..Salute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was pretty simple to make, had a little fire. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is a delicious and simple recipe with the perfect amount of seasoning/kick. The leftovers held up well and continued to taste great a couple of days later. Like other reviewers, I have had "the real thing" while living in Chicago and this recipe was just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This is like having an instant ticket to the Italian neighborhoods of Philly. Do remember to add sauted onions and peppers to the au jus to pile on with the meat. Cheese of your choice is also a must. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe rocks. If you make this for your family you will automatically get bonus points towards mother (or father) of the year! SO delicious and really quite easy. The hardest part is finding the right sized pan. I'm going to use this for the holidays when I have a home full of family I am trying to feed quickly at lunch time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
The real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKALVIG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
very good recipe. I just took mine out of the oven and it was wonderful. There is no need to let chill. Just make sure you have a good, sharp knife. This was my first roast attempt and won't be the last. Even though it didn't turn out as rare as I would have liked it, I would recommend this recipe to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Very Very Good. Omitted salt and replaced with garlic powder. Added the beef,mozzerella cheese and pepperchines. Used steak rolls brushed tops with olive oil for about two minutes till crisp. These were awesome. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I have been looking for a recipe for these for 10 years!!!! Thank you so much. My husband who has never been to Chicago now knows why I miss it so much, THEIR ITALIAN BEEF SANDWICHES! Thanks again, they are incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States