Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I did make a few changes though. I put the frozen roast straight into the crock pot, then poured the water, oregano, garlic cloves, salt, and peper over the top. (I left out the red pepper flakes because I didn't have any on hand). I let it cook for about 4 hours. Then took the meat out, sliced it up, and put it back in the crock pot with the juices and let it cook for another 2 hours. It turned out awesome! (Saved quite a few steps too!) Served on hoagie buns with pepperoncini peppers, this is definitely a 5 star recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanna, Indiana, USA
Living In: Winamac, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
hubby from chicago also and said it taste just like the italian beefs from there thanks for the recipe sometimes i get lazy and just buy the roast beef at the deli bring broth and seasoning to a boil and add the meat thanks will try the slow cooker comment for the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Made for a family dinner and everyone loved it. Made a few changes: used bottom round, a can of beef broth, cooked for an extra hour since I do not like rare beef. One note, I will add less red pepper flakes next time cause I had to dilute the drippings with extra broth to tone down the spicy broth for my grandson, although my husband and son loved it. Served with individual ciabatta rolls, roasted potatoes and tomato cucumber salad. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Dick, fine job! There are Italian Beef's,then there are "Chicago style" Italian Beefs. Yours i would classify as Chicago style. I also use beef broth instead of water. In Chicago, from where i was raised & just returned from, the only topping you would get are either sweet peppers or Giardinera (hot). No mushrooms or any of that other stuff, but thats perfectly ok for each individual preferences. When it comes to Chicago style Italian Beef's, im just a purist as all. For the people who said rump is too tough, you first roast to no more than medium! That way when you slice the meat, I should say SHAVE, it does not crumble. That degree of doneness has nothing to do with tenderness. After cooling(important cause hot meat crumbles)inserting the shaved meat in the Au Jus the redness will dissapear. Do not waste the x-tra $$ on beef tenderloin. Rump or top round or sirloin tip will be just fine as well as eye of round, although eye of round is NOT the tenderloin! Dick, out of all the Beef joints in Chi-Town, Al's is probably tops, but then again it's all a personal preference. For all of the people out there "ad libb'ing" a Chicago style Italian Beef, they have to know what an original really is & how it's served! Sort of like in Philly at Gino's or Pat's. Cheese Whiz or American Cheese. Thanks for letting these folks in on a Chicago staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coach Tom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Okay, I just served this to 25 people at our church "college night". Oh my gosh! They absolutely loved it! One man came up to me and said "This is the best thing I've ever had! I really mean it, this is the BEST thing I've ever had!" Everyone loved it. It's easy to make and soooo good. I served it on hoagies with provolone, and green peppers and onions that I cooked in olive oil with the broth on the side. You gotta try this one! Update to review: I used this recipe to serve 60 people at a retreat. I didn't have the budget to buy roast so I substituted brisket. I have to say, it's just as good and so much cheaper! I trimmed all of the fat off that I could get off and then cooked it exactly the same. EVERYONE that eats it absolutely loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHICO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Very simple and great for serving a large group of people. We enjoyed ours on buttered, toasted rolls with roasted bell peppers and provolone cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
These were incredible. I have served them 3 times to rave reviews, even by gourmet friends. The recipe is easy and wonderful without any changes!!! Cooking the beef at the low temp and then letting it rest makes for a medium rare and tender slice of beef. Use an electric knife for easy slicing. Slice thin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was good, but not the best that I have ever had. I thought that this recipe could have been enhanced by using beef broth instead of the water and also by placing onions and peppers on top. It is super easy to do this in a slow cooker. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Thank you! You should rename this one the ONLY REAL Italian Beef Sandwich Recipe! We also moved away from the city of Chicago, and couldn't believe what they were passing off as "Beefs" in our new locale; shredded or loose meat with only a hint of seasoning, and carrots! AAAGH! I came up with this method too after trial and error.I also use flavoring in the water added to the roasting pan, usually a little Worcestshire and a teaspoon of ready-to-use beef bouillon. We use a whole beef tenderloin, mostly for ease of slicing, so that we have enough for a big party or extra for the freezer. My recipe calls for an herb/spice rub, with an eight cup each basil, oregano and parsley in dried form. A dash or two of dried diced onion, crushed red pepper as hot as you like, and salt and pepper to taste. Put on half of this before inserting the garlic and half after. An easy way of doing the garlic is to make shallow scorings lengthwise down the tenderloin and then pat in minced garlic from a jar. Sometimes we use a third to a half jar, depending on the size of the roast. Proceed as you do with Dick's recipe, but with a whole tenderloin (sometimes called eye of round) you might need longer for the larger size -- we usually leave it in the oven for 4 hours. The first time we used the recipe, we put it in a roaster for a 70-person grad party, and it was the most requested entree, around 12 pounds completely gone right down to the gravy. Hope the "tweaks" will help..Salute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was pretty simple to make, had a little fire. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States