Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Awesome Italian Beefs!!! My husband is from the Chicago area and introduced me to Portillos hot beefs. Living in CA, we look forward to Portillos every time we visit family and friends. I made this recipe exactly, and the beefs were excellent. My husband and all of our friends that were over for Monday night football loved these beefs. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was fantastic!!!! Followed recipe,but I also did it in crock pot.Will make many times,Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Excellent!!! Followed recipe ingredients, only cooked in crock pot instead of oven. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is the Chicago Italian Beef you've been craving. I used to live near Buona Beef on Roosevelt Road and would feast on their drippy, delicious sandwiches. But that was years ago and I never get out that way anymore. I made this recipe, added sauteed peppers and onions, and served with homemade fries as the finishing touch. I am not ashamed to say that everyone gorged themselves, me included. As if recreating a favorite memory wasn't satisfying enough, it cost just a fraction of an equivalent restaurant meal. Now that's a thrill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
not very flavorfull, pretty dissapointing I will try it again. maybe with some tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmysam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandwich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was DEEEEEELICIOUS!!!!! I've tried sc Italian beef (by Maureen) and wasn't impressed, but this changed my mind about homemade Italian beefs! I followed Dick's directions to a T except for running short on time (and b/c my grocer didn't have rump roast at 11 PM on New Year's day... a whole other story....). To compensate, I used a 4 lb. top round roast and, instead preping a day ahead, I roasted for 2 hrs. at 250 degrees (basting every 1/2 hr.), cooled in the pan, tightly covered w/ aluminum foil and let all sit in the fridge for ~6 hrs. Before my guests arrived, I sliced the meat VERY thin with a meat slicer (I borrowed one from my bf's parents but will be investing in one myself so I can make these often!). BE SURE TO COOK YOUR ROAST FOR 2 HRS. AT 250 as directed. This will ensure a rare roast. Before saying "yuck", let your sliced meat sit in it's juices and the redness will disappear (viola!). I never knew that true Italian beefs are served rare to med-rare (my bf read this on the WWW). Oh, I subbed 1 c. of low-sodium beef broth for the H2O (and used the remaining broth in step 2). My only complaint is the lack of juice. Next time, I'll use 2-3 cans of broth & adjust the seasonings proportionally, but still use a 4 lb. roast. Served with homemade giardiniera (by PHONETEK). If you are a true Chicagoan, the only way to eat Italian beef is with sweet peppers or hot giardiniera, juice (i.e. "wet") or no juice. No cheese in the Windy City :) Thx. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Delicious, just like home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars because my husband really enjoyed it. I thought it was okay. I honestly thought it needed more spices or something. It thought, however, that it tasted much better the next day when I reheated it for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Fantastic roast sandwiches. Like the sandwiches you'd make with dinner rolls at family dinner on the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I'd give this recipe a 10 if I could. It is absolutely amazing. Like my husband said, "It's the best sandwich I've ever had". I would definately suggest this recipe for any occasion. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States