Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!! I added the broth in place of water and doubled the recipe. I packaged up 1lb. packages and froze all the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I had a 7 pound sirloin round roast and it worked great - roasted an extra 40 minutes. We let it cool down, and then sliced some of it off for sandwiches before refrigeration. (No time!) They were great! We'll try again tomorrow and see whether refrigerating overnight makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Excellent! We loved these. Did it in the crock pot and didn't have time to put it in the fridge overnight and these were still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Awesome Italian Beefs!!! My husband is from the Chicago area and introduced me to Portillos hot beefs. Living in CA, we look forward to Portillos every time we visit family and friends. I made this recipe exactly, and the beefs were excellent. My husband and all of our friends that were over for Monday night football loved these beefs. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was fantastic!!!! Followed recipe,but I also did it in crock pot.Will make many times,Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Excellent!!! Followed recipe ingredients, only cooked in crock pot instead of oven. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is the Chicago Italian Beef you've been craving. I used to live near Buona Beef on Roosevelt Road and would feast on their drippy, delicious sandwiches. But that was years ago and I never get out that way anymore. I made this recipe, added sauteed peppers and onions, and served with homemade fries as the finishing touch. I am not ashamed to say that everyone gorged themselves, me included. As if recreating a favorite memory wasn't satisfying enough, it cost just a fraction of an equivalent restaurant meal. Now that's a thrill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
not very flavorfull, pretty dissapointing I will try it again. maybe with some tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmysam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandwich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was DEEEEEELICIOUS!!!!! I've tried sc Italian beef (by Maureen) and wasn't impressed, but this changed my mind about homemade Italian beefs! I followed Dick's directions to a T except for running short on time (and b/c my grocer didn't have rump roast at 11 PM on New Year's day... a whole other story....). To compensate, I used a 4 lb. top round roast and, instead preping a day ahead, I roasted for 2 hrs. at 250 degrees (basting every 1/2 hr.), cooled in the pan, tightly covered w/ aluminum foil and let all sit in the fridge for ~6 hrs. Before my guests arrived, I sliced the meat VERY thin with a meat slicer (I borrowed one from my bf's parents but will be investing in one myself so I can make these often!). BE SURE TO COOK YOUR ROAST FOR 2 HRS. AT 250 as directed. This will ensure a rare roast. Before saying "yuck", let your sliced meat sit in it's juices and the redness will disappear (viola!). I never knew that true Italian beefs are served rare to med-rare (my bf read this on the WWW). Oh, I subbed 1 c. of low-sodium beef broth for the H2O (and used the remaining broth in step 2). My only complaint is the lack of juice. Next time, I'll use 2-3 cans of broth & adjust the seasonings proportionally, but still use a 4 lb. roast. Served with homemade giardiniera (by PHONETEK). If you are a true Chicagoan, the only way to eat Italian beef is with sweet peppers or hot giardiniera, juice (i.e. "wet") or no juice. No cheese in the Windy City :) Thx. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Delicious, just like home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States