Italian Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
i was born and raised in chicago and used to eat italian beefs at least once a week. since i moved away i always missed my favorit sandwitch, not anymore. this is the real deal....it was like going home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I made this recipe to sell at our church spring festival for over 250 people. I used a A LOT more seasoning than the recipe calls for and it came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
As homemade Chicago Style Italian Beef Sandwiches are concerned. This is pretty darn good. The trick is roasting the meat until rare and then cooling it down over night. Far easier to slice paper thin. The best beef i EVER tasted in my life was from a small ma and pa restaurant more than 35 years ago. Mike's Restaurant on Irving Park Road and Sacramento in Chicago. As good as Portillos and Al's Beef is, Mike's put them all to shame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
These are Italian Beef, Chicago style. And so delicious! Our family is originally from Chicago, and this is exactly how they're done in the Windy City. A note on slicing: if you don't have a deli slicer, you need to cut with a knife as thinly as possible. Roast-style chunks aren't ideal. Even if you get smaller, half-width flakes of meat it's best. You want the slices as close to paper thin as possible. Adding cheese? Not if you're going for authentic Chicago style. Just serve with plenty of au jus on the inside of the bread, almost soggy. And giardinara peppers to garnish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
If you like spicy than this is the recipe for you. I used a 4 pound top round roast and 2 cans of beef broth instead of water.The meat came out tender and the au jus was killer. Don't forget to dip your sandwich in the au jus cause thats what makes this recipe special. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I didn't have packaged Italian dressing so I made the Italian Dressing from this site. Accidentally put all of it into the pot (1/2 cup) but it still turned out great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Perfection. Was skeptical of the low temp and lenghth of roasting time....don't worry. I have made this several time now for the family....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. OConnor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!! I added the broth in place of water and doubled the recipe. I packaged up 1lb. packages and froze all the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I had a 7 pound sirloin round roast and it worked great - roasted an extra 40 minutes. We let it cool down, and then sliced some of it off for sandwiches before refrigeration. (No time!) They were great! We'll try again tomorrow and see whether refrigerating overnight makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Excellent! We loved these. Did it in the crock pot and didn't have time to put it in the fridge overnight and these were still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States