Italian Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I'm not quite sure what flax seed meal is doing in this recipe, and not having any I just used 1 cup of italian bread crumbs. To that I added the dried parsley, romano cheese as well as some parmesan, garlic powder, italian seasoning, basil and oregano. I didn't measure, just eyeballed it and mixed it up. I used two eggs and thinned that out with a bit of milk. I didn't bother with the flour either. I cut the chicken breasts into smaller pieces and dipped them into the egg then the bread crumb mixture then back into the egg and back into the bread crumb mixture (double dipping) for a thick coating. I sprayed a glass baking pan with Pam so nothing would stick and baked it for 35 minutes at 350 turning once during baking. The chicken was very moist and had a great italian herb flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I made this recipe as written: it was edible, but really bland. The egg part of the coating was sort of like the underside of chicken skin. The directions seemed fussy for this type of recipe, too. Far simpler to bake uncovered at 425º for 25 minutes. I'll stick to using a very thin coating of low-fat mayo (instead of the egg), and a more seasoned crumb coating recipe. I do appreciate the use of flax seed meal in this recipe, though. I will add flax seed to my usual recipe. Thanks for that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Another good recipe to add to your chicken dinner repetoir. Simple and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I really like this recipe. I didn't use flax seed, and I took the other reviewers suggestion to add a little italian seasoning to the egg mixture. I also sprinkled lemon juice over the cutlets before baking. It was wonderful! I served it over pasta and put red sauce over it, and my husband said it was better than being at an italian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
The whole family loved this. Thanks for a great recipe. Very fast and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarepta, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mikayla
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. The chicken baked up moist and tender. And the recipe was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I love this recipe. However i add 1/2 cup of itailian dressing to the egg mixture and it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Knowles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I thought this came out a little bland, but was overall good. Bread crumb mixture stuck great. I served with spaghetti and covered the chicken with spaghetti sauce and sprinkled with extra Romano cheese. Reheated well the next night too. Will make again, but will try adding salt, Italian seasoning, or extra Romano cheese to bread crumb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
this chicken recipe is great! I did cut into nugget size bite and my daughter loved it! Thanks avaliante :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Saranac Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States