Italian BBQ Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
WOW! Say good-bye to dreaded "dry pork" forever with this tasty BBQ pork dish that definitely has an Italian flair to it. I LOVE balsamic vinegar and could practically drink the stuff so I had to try this. Instead of cooking the sauce I decided to use it as a marinade. I cut back a bit on the balsamic (use a good quality one and you can't go wrong) and added 2 Tbsp. of olive oil. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing. I used thick cut bone-in chops and put everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate for a full 24 hours. The smell coming off the grill was fantastic and the taste was sensational. Just as the submitter states it's just the right amount of sweetness and the chops were definitely moist, juicy and full of flavor. This was perfect served with "Grilled Tomato, Onion, and Bread Salad" from this site. Thanks Sarah for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Sooo good. These pork chops have been marinated for 2 days. We don't have a grill, so I put them in a skillet on medium high heat for 1 minute per side and then tossed them in the broiler for 3 minutes per side. They were so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mslaura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Upon completion of cooking they tasted pretty good, but smelled really bad (nauseating) while marinating & definitely smelled bad while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Just so-so for me/us. We LOVE balsamic & only use good quality & I hate to say it but, I'm kinda bummed that I used the last of my bottle for this recipe :-( I cant quite put my finger on which component I didn't like...it's got mostly 5-star reviews so I might go ahead & try it as a marinade sometime? I just don't know yet if I'm willing to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These pork chops were absolutely delicious! I love the balsamic and dijon fusion, it was definitely sweet & tangy,YUM! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Best BBQ hands down! Made exactly as written and it was delicious. Used boneless pork chops and marinated them in enough sauce to cover them for about 5-10 minutes while I figured out it was too windy to grill outside. We don't have a baster for the grill anyway so I used the bowl I had them marinating briefly and made sure they were coated before putting them on the pan under the broiler. I rarely have broiler success but this dish was exceptional. I used a thermometer and the pork was perfectly done and super moist. I had leftover sauce that I saved out to use with chicken the following day. This is my favorite sauce hands down and I'm not a big BBQ sauce fan especially if it comes from a bottle. I use a higher quality balsamic vinegar, you can really tell the difference, and this brand I use is Modenaceti Balsamic Vinegar of Modena. I've used better balsamic vinegars than this one before but never wrote the names down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Really really good! Added less balsamic vinegar and about 3 tablespoons of olive oil, and left out the salt. Its a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This sauce was amazing. I thought it smelled great when it was simmering, but I love balsamic vinegar! It was like balsamic vinagery BBQ sauce! I ended up letting it simmer on very low heat longer than the recipe called for and it got super sticky and thick and fantastic. I let the chops marinade in about 1/3 of the sauce while I prepped my side dish and then grilled. I ended up having to finish them in the oven for 20 minutes because mine were cut thick and I didn't want them drying out on the grill. We all really enjoyed this recipe!! Hubby said to save the extra sauce so we can have these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I loved these! I just used a little more worchestershire sauce. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
OMG! This recipie actually got my 12 year old to put down her cell phone...YUMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States