Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I did not care for this recipe at all. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
great recipe, but use only 3 teaspoons of baking powder, I tried using 5 teaspoons like the recipe called for but leaves an after taste in mouth of baking powder. Also used cocoa powder and coffee instead of anise extract and made the best chocolate cake cookies ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
LOVED this recipe. My grandmother liked these better than her own recipe! The only change I made was adjusting the baking powder to a heaping Tbsp like others said to do.. OH And I needed WAY more icing than that! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great recipe...these were one of many recipes I helped my grandmother make at 7 years old. Every year we would make at least 500 cookies of just the italian cookies with anisette and over the years as the families got smaller, fewer cookies were made. I couldn't remember how to make the cookies in a smaller amount, becuse there was so many variations. The recipe faded, and become unreadable.You saved my life. This past Christmas, I was able to make them and everyone raved about them! Thank you. grasshopper501 Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe is very close to the one I have. The important ingredients are about the same. One recommendation I would make is not to add additional flour. I knead my dough and it is very sticky. But if you then let the batter rest with out adding flour for 15 min to hr. it will roll nicely and be less apt to become hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I really love these cookies. I used 3 tsp. of baking powder instead of the 6 tbsp., as one reviewer suggested. When I first made them, the dough was crumbly. When I made them again, I used a little more water, which helped a lot. I also used more anisette extract, which made a difference. But the topping on the cake was sprinkling nonpareils on top (after a generous amount of icing), to make them colorful and visually appetizing. My friends and family LOVED them. One of my friends said that they were even better than the ones he got in Boston's North End!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My2CatsR2Cool

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I lost my grandmothers recipe for these cookies, but they were always a childhood favorite. I was so happy to find this recipe, they tasted exactly like I remembered. Just the right balance of Anise, I however like others used only 2 Tbsp of baking powder and had excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I have made these cookies for the Christmas holiday two years in a row..and they are a big family hit. Need to make these year-round. Great with a cup of coffee in the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I have made this recipe now for the second year in a row for Christmas and I have followed the recipe exactly. Everyone that has tried these say they are the best they have ever tasted. Do not alter the recipe in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Niles, Ohio, USA
Photo by SAVANNAH0410
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was looking for a good anise cookie, for Christmas and this fit the bill. It is a good tasting cookie, and the icing is sooo good. It has a nice strong anise taste to it, which sweetens the cookie up perfectly. I did have to double the icing as this recipe made around 4 dozen cookies. The baking time was off for me, mine had to stay 14 minutes and were just a light golden brown on bottom. At the 8 minute time mark they were still raw in the center. I used only a heaping tablespoon of baking powder and it worked fine. Very good recipe! Thanks :) edited to add: I am now changing this to 5 stars as this got even better with age. Perfect blend of flavoring! edited again to add: I have used this recipe a ton of times which is saying a lot ( I constantly am looking for something better)...I find this cookie delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States