Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent italian cookie. They freeze well, I defrost a couple to have with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made this recipe and used a heaping tablespoon of baking powder and 2 tablespoons of anise extract. They came out perfect. Brings back childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These cookies are AMAZING!!! I followed the incredients exactly but I also read the reviews and noticed how everyone changed the baking powder amount, which I guess Heather corrected to 1 tablespoon which is what I used. Absolutely delicious!! When I was glazing them I sprinkled some green and red sugar crystals to make them more festive for the holidays. I did run out of Anise extract so for the glaze I used almond extract. Thank you for the recipe Heather, they remind me of something my Grandmother use to make. Brings back wonderful memories and the kitchen smells great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made these for the 1st time today. I think the bake time is closer to about 11-12 minutes til the bottom is browned. They look nice with white icing and colored sprinkles but I think they could have been sweeter and even though I added more anise extract, they still were kind of bland. They would probably be one of the 1st cookies I reached for on a plate, but I probably wouldn't go for a second one. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Lovely, soft cookie. Remember-- anise has a black licorice flavor. If you dislike black licorice (as my husband does), you won't enjoy this recipe as is. Try it with lemon extract or almond extract instead! I used a #60 cookie scoop (small Pampered Chef scoop) and baked for 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I have shared this recipe with so many. I made a minor change in that I don't ice while warm. I have gone thru 10 pounds of flour in 1 month since I make a batch every other day. All my co workers ask for more and more and more, I finally just gave them the recipe!! The best cookie ever. Bake the first batch at 9 min, then 8 min. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Scrumptious! I don't like licorice flavor, so I used almond extract instead. I'm thinking of trying these again with lemon extract. I found these cookies to be easy to make and they use oil not margarine or butter which is another plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These came out great, and tasted like the cookies I grew up with. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Like Grandma used to make, for sure. Some extra steps here, but all well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These were fun and easy to make. I helped bake quite a few cookies with my 13year old neice, who gave these out as gifts. These anisette are light and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States