Italian Anisette Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly (looks like the previous typo was corrected to 1 tablespoon baking powder, which I followed)....but was slightly disappointed. The anise flavor is absent from the cookie (I left some without frosinting because my son does not like frosting). The only anise flavor comes from the icing. However, the texture is nice; not too dry, just soft & slightly cakey. I think next time I'll just make using almond or lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very tasty. Made the house smell delicious! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
outstanding! I've been looking for a good anisette cookie, and i've found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
nice recipe it was easy. had to add a little more anise and raise the oven rack to the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Very dry cookies. I tried another recipe with orange juice in it and what a difference, much better and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I loveee them, thanks so much for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sirena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These taste really great. I don't know if somehow I measured incorrectly (I really don't think so), but the dough seemed dry. I added an extra 1/4 cup of oil before forming the cookies and I still had to smash the dough balls down in order to get them to spread at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttakwup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Great. Better than my grandma's recipe. Definitely don't make if you don't like black licorice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious! The vegetable oil seemed strange at first - but the flavor is outstanding! Can't keep these on the plate! Kids and adults love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
As long as I can remember my family ate anise cookies during the Christmas holidays and I thought I would try making them this year. These cookies taste pretty good but I would have preferred a stronger taste of anise and lighter cookie. I found these cookies to be a bit of what I call "doughy" and heavy. The cookies were completely done (any longer in the oven and they would have been hard) but they were really dense... reminded me of scones, sort of. I'm going to try again using another recipe that calls for lots of egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States