Italian Anise Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
This cookie is delicious toasted or not. My husband is an Italian-American and he loved it. I used a teaspoon of anise extract in place of the seeds. Do not forget the cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Very easy to make and very good. I used 1 teaspoon of anise oil and it was way too strong. I'd try it with 12 teaspoon next time. I will definatly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Have been looking for this recipe for yrs. It's super easy and delicious!! The only thing i changed on the 2nd batch was I used anise extract.Gives more flavor......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Simple, easy and tasty! I substituted anise extract for anise seed, and these little toasts/cookies were fabulous with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I MADE them yesterday 9/8/07 for my husband he liked them so much that ihad to make another batch for him to day 9/9/07 ididnt change a thing alice lopiano, kingston, new york
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Houghtaling Lopiano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Texture is real nice. A good dunking toast. A little less flavorful than I would prefer, but I am a huge fan of Anise. I just used both Anise flavoring AND the anise seeds to get the cookies to my prefered level of flavor. I also made this recipe using Almonds and Almond flavoring and they were terrific also. A nice touch is to drizzle a little glaze using your choice of flavored extract (Almond or Anise were mine) with confectioners sugar and a little milk. So good you may not wait for the glaze to dry before you eat them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theodosia
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I have used this recipe for years and it is one of our very favorites. Don't forget to crush the anise seed for lots more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great and easy recipe. It was everyones favorite at Christmas. The only thing I did differently was add 1 tsp. anise extract because we like a little more of the anise flavor. Besides that it was a perfect anise toast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBI215

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These were really tasty if you like anise flavoring. I made mine a bit more healthy and subbed 1/2 c wheat flour, 1/4 egg beaters for one egg and did 1/3 c splenda. Since they were toasted at the end I thought they still had a really nice texture and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Wow, I can't believe how easy this recipe was and the results were so amazing, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States