Italian Anise Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I MADE them yesterday 9/8/07 for my husband he liked them so much that ihad to make another batch for him to day 9/9/07 ididnt change a thing alice lopiano, kingston, new york
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Houghtaling Lopiano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These were really tasty if you like anise flavoring. I made mine a bit more healthy and subbed 1/2 c wheat flour, 1/4 egg beaters for one egg and did 1/3 c splenda. Since they were toasted at the end I thought they still had a really nice texture and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theodosia
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I have used this recipe for years and it is one of our very favorites. Don't forget to crush the anise seed for lots more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Great and easy recipe. It was everyones favorite at Christmas. The only thing I did differently was add 1 tsp. anise extract because we like a little more of the anise flavor. Besides that it was a perfect anise toast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBI215

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Have been looking for this recipe for yrs. It's super easy and delicious!! The only thing i changed on the 2nd batch was I used anise extract.Gives more flavor......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful, quick and affordable recipe. I added these to my Christmas cookie tray this year. Be careful not to overbake on the second baking. They brown fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I did however, modify it because while I love anise, my husband does not. I omitted the anise seed and added 1 teaspoon of almond extract. Prior to baking, I sprinkled sliced almonds on top. Everyone loved it and since it is so easy, I'll be making more later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca2220

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Simple, easy and tasty! I substituted anise extract for anise seed, and these little toasts/cookies were fabulous with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Wow, I can't believe how easy this recipe was and the results were so amazing, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I was a bit skeptical in making these at Christmas. My family is big into fudge and chocolate. I was afraid these would be too subtle. But they were a huge hit with everyone, and I couldn't keep my hands off them either. Great with tea, too mild for coffee. My fiance loved the first batch that came out and ended up making all the batches after that. Very easy recipe if he can do it. I made four batches in all, and didn't have one left by Dec. 26th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States