Italian Anise Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I took the suggestion of adding 1/2tsp of baking soda and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
its cookies not toast.lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaun Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I love anise, so I used probably 1 1/2 TBS, and crushed it in my mortar and pestle first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
where's the butter, these are like bricks, no butter to soften them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Easy and delicious! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have had this same recipe for almost 45 years now and misplaced it. I came to allrecipes and found the exact one here; it is so simple and with so few ingredients, and very tasty with tea or coffee... love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made these and sorry to say, will never make again! They were hard as a rock, I will go back to my other recipe, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Parkville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Awesome recipe, I did add 1 tsp of anise extract in addition to the anise seeds. (we love the anise taste. I then remade them using the same amounts plus a 1/2 tsp of baking soda, It yiled a lighter version- very close to the texture of the ones you buy in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I'm currently on my 3rd batch :) It's easy to make with only a few ingredients, and it reminds me of the toast my Gram used to make. My first batch I only had one egg, so I used applesauce and baking powder as a replacement, and they tasted good but weren't as crispy as the second batch I made as written. Also, you can use a tsp of anise extract in place of the anise seed. It gives a sharper flavor, but I prefer mine with more anise. The batch in the oven now uses 3/4 of the called for amount of sugar and 1/4 molasses to try to achieve a warmer flavor. The batter tasted good, so we'll see how it goes. All in all, this is a great an simple recipe that's easy to experiment with. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I too added a little imitation anise extract for more anise flavor. The house smells delightful, and the cookies taste just like I remember my mom's Italian aunts' cookies tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States